Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
1689 Federalist
11,741 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I read you can use 6870 blocks on some 6950's. I have been googling around and the pcb's look very similar. But I am new at this. I already bought a universal block and just ordered a full cover heatsink from swiftech.

But I did all this because I thought I couldn't get a full cover block for my card.
Its this one.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161372

Heres my pcb

And heres what EK shows for the ref 6870

What do you guys think?

Heres another one, mine has the exact same heatsink on the left

·
Registered
744 Posts
I think it will work the layouts are the same as far as I can tell TBH it's kinda the same thing that happens with the GTX580/570 (reference models) a block for the 580 works fine on the 570.

Edit: Kinda obvious but... just take the heatsink on the left off the card before using the full cover block

·
Registered
712 Posts
I actually tried this out with a so called XFX ref card with my 6870 block and it didnt fit right for my likeing. So i ended up returning my XFX card and got a ref saphire and a xspc block. Now I know the ladder part really doesnt help u because its pretty hard to find a ref model.

·
1689 Federalist
11,741 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well this isn't for a reference 6950. So I don't think that applies

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

·
Aqua Computer Staff
1,182 Posts
I know from our 6870 blocks that they work with these 6950 cards BUT you have to cover the small resistors above the upper RAM chips line with some tape since they are on par with the RAM chips and might cause a short circuit.

A customer has reported that to us so we changed the block in that area to work without the tape.

Well, it is possible but I can't tell if other blocks will also work.

·
1689 Federalist
11,741 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Hmm can you show me exactly what you mean in the picture?

·
Banned
21,557 Posts
Quote: