Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Figured this was better in its own thread, but, I currently run gskill 2400 ram in my existing z370 that i have overclocked just by boosting the ram voltage and maybe things like vccio (i forget) to 3200.

With this I saw a decent fps jump for sims at least. I'm thinking if i just upgrade the ram to 4000 or higher capable ram, maybe something like samsung (b die best/cheapest?):
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820374012# (lists 4000, but spec says 3200), that minimal effort might be needed to hit 4000? This kit is $256, so a bit more than standard ddr4 at around $150, but not too bad.


Does anyone have any experience with this and this combination and hitting 4k and up? Is it as simple as changing some voltages again and stress testing? My board is the Asus Maximus X Hero Z37

I was trying to avoid going to 10900k and the newer boards if i can do a minor bump and maybe 3xxx series nvidia soon.

Thanks in advance for info here
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Figured this was better in its own thread, but, I currently run gskill 2400 ram in my existing z370 that i have overclocked just by boosting the ram voltage and maybe things like vccio (i forget) to 3200.

With this I saw a decent fps jump for sims at least. I'm thinking if i just upgrade the ram to 4000 or higher capable ram, maybe something like samsung (b die best/cheapest?):
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820374012# (lists 4000, but spec says 3200), that minimal effort might be needed to hit 4000? This kit is $256, so a bit more than standard ddr4 at around $150, but not too bad.


Does anyone have any experience with this and this combination and hitting 4k and up? Is it as simple as changing some voltages again and stress testing?

I was trying to avoid going to 10900k and the newer boards if i can do a minor bump and maybe 3xxx series nvidia soon.

Thanks in advance for info here



There is a website Samsung bdie checker. you can have a look on there to see what definitely has Samsung bdie and compare costs.


4000c17 should be b die but you should check to make sure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There is a website Samsung bdie checker. you can have a look on there to see what definitely has Samsung bdie and compare costs.


4000c17 should be b die but you should check to make sure.
Well i checked the qvl for the gskill, seems they dont list Any z370 boards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
955 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Thanks for that link, yeah i took a shot on that ram, will see, ill swap it out and set xmp and maybe keep the same voltage and start tweaking/stress testing it from there and see if i can be stable at 4k.
There was a secondary link for a cas18 "4000" pc43200 set here: https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232768?Description=DDR4 4000 (PC4 32000&cm_re=DDR4_4000 (PC4 32000-_-20-232-768-_-Product&quicklink=true
Much higher latency, i suppose the one i got should suffice or is it more laxed and easier to hit 4000 on the other.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
955 Posts
Thanks for that link, yeah i took a shot on that ram, will see, ill swap it out and set xmp and maybe keep the same voltage and start tweaking/stress testing it from there and see if i can be stable at 4k.
There was a secondary link for a cas18 "4000" pc43200 set here: https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232768?Description=DDR4 4000 (PC4 32000&cm_re=DDR4_4000 (PC4 32000-_-20-232-768-_-Product&quicklink=true
Much higher latency, i suppose the one i got should suffice or is it more laxed and easier to hit 4000 on the other.
You made an excellent choice. That ram should be capable of much more with the right supporting hardware :thumb:
As a rough guide divide the frequency by the cl. The higher the number the better the ram bin
Generally I try to buy ram where the tCL, tRCD and tRP are all the same but the ram you linked is excellent ram anyway so that's not an issue :)

3600/16=225
3200/14=228.6
4000/17=235.3 ✔
4000/18=222.2

Edit: 2*16GB Dual Rank is harder to get higher frequencies than 2*8GB Single Rank, especially with the board being T-Topology (preferring all 4 slots populated with ram) but you will still get excellent gains.
There is a tutorial in my sig you should have a read of for ram overclocking
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You made an excellent choice. That ram should be capable of much more with the right supporting hardware :thumb:
As a rough guide divide the frequency by the cl. The higher the number the better the ram bin
Generally I try to buy ram where the tCL, tRCD and tRP are all the same but the ram you linked is excellent ram anyway so that's not an issue :)

3600/16=225
3200/14=228.6
4000/17=235.3 ✔
4000/18=222.2
Ah cool ok, thanks for the note there.

Its been about 3 years since i did any stress testing on this board/cpu. I guess i should ask, is Prime95 blend still a decent way to test the ram portion (though i've used blend to test overall stability in the past)? I think right now i dont have my board on xmp settings (its been stable/tested fine at 3200 with the old stuff and 5 ghz 8700k at -1 avx). I guess i should start by reenabling xmp (i had issues i thought with the xmp values before). Might even need a bios update unsure, i think i have a bios from about a year ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
955 Posts
Ah cool ok, thanks for the note there.

Its been about 3 years since i did any stress testing on this board/cpu. I guess i should ask, is Prime95 blend still a decent way to test the ram portion (though i've used blend to test overall stability in the past)? I think right now i dont have my board on xmp settings (its been stable/tested fine at 3200 with the old stuff and 5 ghz 8700k at -1 avx). I guess i should start by reenabling xmp (i had issues i thought with the xmp values before). Might even need a bios update unsure, i think i have a bios from about a year ago.
Definitely update the bios. Ram stability may have been included in the newest one. Maybe read the improvements on the board website.
Avoid even turning on XMP as it might leave remnants of settings even after turning it off again. CLR cmos after using it.
There is much discussion regarding ram testing. I prefer TestMem5 (link in my sig) because it's fast and I lose my train of thought easily, then GSAT.
I sometimes run prime95 112k-112k in-place fixed FFT with AVX DISABLED

I edited my previous post
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Definitely update the bios. Ram stability may have been included in the newest one. Maybe read the improvements on the board website.
Avoid even turning on XMP as it might leave remnants of settings even after turning it off again. CLR cmos after using it.
There is much discussion regarding ram testing. I prefer TestMem5 (link in my sig) because it's fast and I lose my train of thought easily, then GSAT.
I sometimes run prime95 112k-112k in-place fixed FFT with AVX DISABLED

I edited my previous post
Well i received the new ram, first off, i'm a dummy, i already have F4-3200C15D-32GTZ (which is close, slightly slower).

I tried the new ram anyway, tried every setting i could think of, vccio/sa at 1.125 at one point, 1.4 on the ram volts, tried xmp on/off, higher slacked settings too (also wiped bios clean and did new bios update). No matter what, setting to 4000 the system wouldnt boot, had to push the mem ok button or wait forever.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
955 Posts
Well i received the new ram, first off, i'm a dummy, i already have F4-3200C15D-32GTZ (which is close, slightly slower).

I tried the new ram anyway, tried every setting i could think of, vccio/sa at 1.125 at one point, 1.4 on the ram volts, tried xmp on/off, higher slacked settings too (also wiped bios clean and did new bios update). No matter what, setting to 4000 the system wouldnt boot, had to push the mem ok button or wait forever.
vccio/sa at 1.125 is not very high. You could easily try up to 1.25v
If you are concerned you could start with a lower frequency to gauge the voltages required and work your way up :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
vccio/sa at 1.125 is not very high. You could easily try up to 1.25v
If you are concerned you could start with a lower frequency to gauge the voltages required and work your way up :)
Tried 1.25, was a no go, in conjunction tried as high as 1.49v on the ram. Tried 19,19,39 for timings too.

From what i read, its easier to go for 4 of 8gb than two 16gb. (Contrary to what i said before, i must have been trying 4, with 16gb each, hence the confusion).

So i dug around looking for 4x8gb kits, so far:

Someone reported success on my board with this gskill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR (3866mhz pc4-30900
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232494
however not available on amazon.

Amazon because much easier to return if it doesnt work out. But seems amazon doesnt have at least this specific one available.
Closest i can see gskill wise might be something like these 3600mhz which might hit 4000:
https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Veng...+gskill+32gb+pc4-32000&qid=1597193990&sr=8-17

Or these 4000 back on newegg i guess https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb...4_32000-_-20-232-938-_-Product&quicklink=true

My original thinking here was that going from 2400 to 3200mhz saw a fps rate increase in xp11 of 4fps, i did retest, its showing a 4fps increase, i guess worth the fuss if this works
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I tried the corsair 4x8gb set, i was able to boot at 4000, however this ram is a bit slower than the old ram. There was ZERO change in fps going from 3200 to 4000. I'm going to punt on this one. Leave things as they were for now, maybe wait till Tiger Lake i think it is, big changes there. Still might throw a 3080ti in, if it doesnt require huge changes or much higher price than the 2080ti
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top