Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

I'm planning on changing the stock cooler on my XFX 8800GT. Is there anything I should keep in mind?

I'd really like to get a guide on how to change the stock coolers as it's my first attempt.

I don't know how to start, do I need any sticky tapes or whatever that I keep reading on here?

Thanks,
Kim

·
Premium Member
36,139 Posts
No; all you really need to do is find a nice large clean surface that doesn't have a static buildup.

And just follow the directions with the VF2000 for installing it.

Unscrew the heatsink; and screw the new one on. It's pretty easy.

You only need Thermal Tape if your Memory Heatsinks don't come with it, though the VF2000 does come with some thermal tape for the Memory Heatsinks so you should be fine.

·
Registered
865 Posts
The VF2000 from Zalman will only cool the gpu core chip. You will need to get aftermarket heatsinks for the memory and voltage regulators.

Find them here.

·
Data Recovery Engineer
20,225 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tator Tot
View Post

No; all you really need to do is find a nice large clean surface that doesn't have a static buildup.

And just follow the directions with the VF2000 for installing it.

Unscrew the heatsink; and screw the new one on. It's pretty easy.

You only need Thermal Tape if your Memory Heatsinks don't come with it, though the VF2000 does come with some thermal tape for the Memory Heatsinks so you should be fine.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Meta-Prometheus
View Post

The VF2000 from Zalman will only cool the gpu core chip. You will need to get aftermarket heatsinks for the memory and voltage regulators.

Find them here.

Exactly you two.

Also when I take apart cards and whatnot, I just do it on a wooden work bench.