Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My old 4790k / Asus Maximus Hero rig finally bit the dust so I decided to upgrade. I'm still using my same EVGA P1000 P2 Power Supply. Here's what I went with:

9900K
Noctua NH-D15s
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC HYBRID
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Master
Samsung M.2 970 Pro 1tb
Samsung M.2 970 Pro 512gb
G.SKILL TridentZ 3600MHZ CL15

In general everything seems fine but there's some quirks here and there. The old PC seemed maybe a tad bit less choppy in windows, you know that random mouse or window freeze that happens from time to time. And even though I'm getting really great frames in something like Battlefield 5 on a 64 man servers, it's still not completely smooth and it does skip frames (I have the PG279Q Gsync Monitor). I did also get one random crash while restarting with a bootable Windows 10 USB connected.

Another thing I notice, it takes about 12 seconds or so to boot into windows. There's videos out there of people with much cheaper systems but with my same NVMe SSD and booting seemingly instantly (my fast boot is enabled). The behavior is the same on both of my Samsung NVMe drives as well. I've made sure windows is optimized, unnecessary features turned off, ect. All my testing is being done with a fresh install.

The 2080 Ti is actually not recognized when I try to install the NVIDIA driver, I have to install using the update program in Geforce Experience. Not sure if that's relevant to all this, figured it's worth a mention. Disabling / Enabling XMP on the memory makes no difference either. I guess I'm just paranoid, not wanting to spend all this money on something that might not be working 100%. Or maybe my expectations for how smooth it should be are a bit too high? Any help on the matter is much appreciated, as I've been doing the process of elimination thing for the last 3 days with the same results.
 

·
9 Cans of Ravioli
Joined
·
19,104 Posts
Occasional BFV stutter is the game, it's not your hardware. In BFV DX11 will stutter less than DX12, but overall performance is worse. Some people in the BFV thread here on OCN said disabling HT fixes it, but it made no difference for me.

The driver install problem is something I've ran into with my 1080 Ti too, it started after 419.67. I just download GFE when I want to update the driver, download/install the new driver through GFE, and then uninstall GFE. Haven't found a fix.

Can't help you with the slow boot, my rig boots up plenty fast with a budget NVME drive with fast boot disabled even with a bootloader to manage dual boot between 10/8.1 EIP/MXL.
 

·
More Cores!
Joined
·
1,231 Posts
I think BFV stuttering is just the game being the game. My main rig stutters occasionally as well, and it's got more than enough grunt.

Are you running the latest bios for the motherboard?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Occasional BFV stutter is the game, it's not your hardware. In BFV DX11 will stutter less than DX12, but overall performance is worse. Some people in the BFV thread here on OCN said disabling HT fixes it, but it made no difference for me.

The driver install problem is something I've ran into with my 1080 Ti too, it started after 419.67. I just download GFE when I want to update the driver, download/install the new driver through GFE, and then uninstall GFE. Haven't found a fix.

Can't help you with the slow boot, my rig boots up plenty fast with a budget NVME drive with fast boot disabled even with a bootloader to manage dual boot between 10/8.1 EIP/MXL.
So you get the 5-6 second boot that I'm seeing on youtube clips?

I think BFV stuttering is just the game being the game. My main rig stutters occasionally as well, and it's got more than enough grunt.

Are you running the latest bios for the motherboard?
Yeah I'm running the latest Bios, seemed about the same as before I updated. As long as that's normal for BF5 I'm cool with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,658 Posts
Its just the game. Same thing happens to me but when its not stuttering its BSODing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Occasional BFV stutter is the game, it's not your hardware. In BFV DX11 will stutter less than DX12, but overall performance is worse. Some people in the BFV thread here on OCN said disabling HT fixes it, but it made no difference for me.

The driver install problem is something I've ran into with my 1080 Ti too, it started after 419.67. I just download GFE when I want to update the driver, download/install the new driver through GFE, and then uninstall GFE. Haven't found a fix.

Can't help you with the slow boot, my rig boots up plenty fast with a budget NVME drive with fast boot disabled even with a bootloader to manage dual boot between 10/8.1 EIP/MXL.
Its just the game. Same thing happens to me but when its not stuttering its BSODing.
I notice you and me have the same exact system almost. Do you find overall desktop usage a bit suttery at times? And do you get the 5 to 6 second boot times NVMe ssds are supposed to get or is it more around 12-13 seconds like me?
 

·
9 Cans of Ravioli
Joined
·
19,104 Posts
Who times their boot? :eek:

If it's stuttering at the desktop, no, that's not normal for a $500 CPU and a $300 NVME drive.
 

·
sudo apt install sl
Joined
·
7,297 Posts
I notice you and me have the same exact system almost. Do you find overall desktop usage a bit suttery at times? And do you get the 5 to 6 second boot times NVMe ssds are supposed to get or is it more around 12-13 seconds like me?
5-6 seconds to boot on a desktop is ridiculously fast and require a ton of tweaking. By default mine takes 8 seconds just to post due to MCH Full check and to Windows 20 seconds and Clear Linux 13 seconds. Not to mention all the different controllers on motherboards now a days.

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/fastest-windows-10-boot-time,5810.html

I find Windows UI a bit sluggish which is why I no longer use it for normal use but only benchmarking.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,658 Posts
I notice you and me have the same exact system almost. Do you find overall desktop usage a bit suttery at times? And do you get the 5 to 6 second boot times NVMe ssds are supposed to get or is it more around 12-13 seconds like me?
Desktop experience is very smooth. Absolutely no problems there. As for start up I just timed it (LOL) and 4.3sec from powered off to desktop. It should no be taking more than 10 seconds IMO. But then again I disabled a top of start up software.
 

·
Overclocker & Enthusiast
Joined
·
142 Posts
Sometimes boards can take a long time to train too, you'll often find high end boards take the longest to train because those need it for better memory clocks. For example my C7H takes about 10 seconds just to post, and from cold boot will always cycle twice before getting up and running. OS stuttering I'm not sure of though, you could always try a high performance power plan and see if a higher C-state stops it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thanks for all the replies this helps quite a bit.

For the CPU and Power Supply, those components in general either work or they don't, right?

But for the motherboard, isn't there a lot more wiggle room for error?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
771 Posts
firstly...I'd suggest that you run ddu in safe mode, to remove the video driver and install the most updated one. I think that will help.
https://www.wagnardsoft.com/forums/

I'd also have you updated the bios and chipset, I/O etc? check here
https://www.aorus.com/Z390-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10#pd_download

other thoughts... you could be pushing the PCEi lanes. with 16x gpu, and two m.2 not sure how many lanes they take but someone here might ...(I'd research this to know for sure) the z390 has limited lanes. Maybe test with only one (your o/s) versus both...

also the aorus mobo's tend to load slower for me I have the z390 xtreme.... I'm on a sata 850 pro... but the bios itself seems to take time to load vrs my other msi or asus builds.

lastly. are you overclocking cpu or gpu? ... your psu should be enough, unless it's very old or you are overclocking a ton. the 2080ti can be a hog depending on your volts.

wirefox
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
firstly...I'd suggest that you run ddu in safe mode, to remove the video driver and install the most updated one. I think that will help.
https://www.wagnardsoft.com/forums/

I'd also have you updated the bios and chipset, I/O etc? check here
https://www.aorus.com/Z390-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10#pd_download

other thoughts... you could be pushing the PCEi lanes. with 16x gpu, and two m.2 not sure how many lanes they take but someone here might ...(I'd research this to know for sure) the z390 has limited lanes. Maybe test with only one (your o/s) versus both...

also the aorus mobo's tend to load slower for me I have the z390 xtreme.... I'm on a sata 850 pro... but the bios itself seems to take time to load vrs my other msi or asus builds.

lastly. are you overclocking cpu or gpu? ... your psu should be enough, unless it's very old or you are overclocking a ton. the 2080ti can be a hog depending on your volts.

wirefox
Yes I have latest bios, chipset drivers and such. That's a good idea and shows how stupid I am, didn't think to remove one of the M.2 drives. Only one of them is really necessary so I'll give that a shot. I'll also try removing the Soundblaster AE-5 and trying each ram stick one at a time.

My PSU is about 6 years old, so I'm not sure if that's pushing it on age. I had to clean it out the other day when rebuilding my PC cause it has tons of dust caked up on the fans / insides of it. At one point I thought I may of been a little rough trying to open up the unit, but ultimately didn't think it was that bad. I may just say to hell with it and go for a 1200W if some of these other tests don't move the ball forward, and if that doens't cut it then I'll likely take the mobo back for a different brand. I'm used to the Asus ROG Maximus series having used it for my last build, will probably go with that one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
674 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Couple more things I've noticed.. Overwatch which never dropped below 144fps on my old rig with the 1080 Ti now occasionally hits low 130's and stutters once in a blue moon on the 2080Ti. Also my start menu is looking a bit strange. There's a green pattern overlaying part of the menu. This is on a fresh install:

https://i.imgur.com/rTZecCC.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/7sut01O.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
771 Posts
wierd, what sort of monitor do you have e/g 4k or like a 1080p? maybe try another cable and check that they are secure. I have a 34" 120hz curved ips predator and play on med-low and get 240-300 on overwatch...

Also I'd really suggest again updating your gpu driver in safemode...

lastly, you might want to re-install windows.. I know it's a pain.

wirefox
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
942 Posts
I use a chopped down version of windows from teamos to replace my ligit version and get a much better windows and maybe gaming experience :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,115 Posts
Desktop experience is very smooth. Absolutely no problems there. As for start up I just timed it (LOL) and 4.3sec from powered off to desktop. It should no be taking more than 10 seconds IMO. But then again I disabled a top of start up software.
Pics or it didnt happen. LOL!


OK I have:
Intel 9900K @5.0
GIGABYTE Z390 Aorus Master.
Nvidia Geforce 2080 Ti @+100 Core +1000 Memory
HP EX920 M.2 256GB PCIe 3.0 Boot drive.

Here is boot time in Task Manager fast boot off
And then other info.


In windows it is never choppy and I only have some stutters in online games and thats due to the game.
 

Attachments

·
9 Cans of Ravioli
Joined
·
19,104 Posts

never knew there was a boot timer in task manager, news to me ... but it definitely takes me more than ~9 seconds to go from power off to desktop.

maybe from the Windows log-in to loaded at the desktop, but not BIOS to desktop.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,115 Posts
I think that's just Bios time it doesn't add Windows load time. Could be wrong never timed it out side of Task Manager.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,658 Posts
A few seconds slower than fresh install.
 

Attachments

1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top