Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello ,

I hope I'm in the right place for this thread. If not I apologize.

Hi, I just started getting into OC'n 3 days ago so I'm very new to it.

For some reason .. I can't seem to OC my CPU past 3990Mhz (30 ratio) using the TurboV evo software CPU ratio adjuster. It's fine and stable when it's at 3990 I played Battlefield 3 for several hours no crashes but as soon as I go to a multiplier of 31 and up my sytem crashes and I get the blue screen. I tried a few times with different settings probably not knowing what I'm doing and after several crashes I got boot image corrupt. lol spent 10 hours and finally managed to fix it on my own. Was up till 7 am.

I play Video Games for long periods of time sometimes 10 hours straight lol especially when my schedule is free. I'd like to OC at safe levels for the computer. I just feel that after all this money I spent I have to get more from this computer as its what it was made for. I don't mind spending extra as well if you suggest different cooling methods etc. But 1st please, if you don't mind, base your suggestions on what is listed below.

Here are my system specs

HAF X 942 Chassis (4fans standard that came with case, Top Left Back Front)
intel 990x extreme 6 core (V8 CoolerMaster installed)
Nvid Evga GTX 580 x2 superclocked fermis
6 GB Corsair Dom GT 1866 (this wednesday will be replaced by 12gb Corsair D GT 2000mhz)
Asus Rampage Xtreme 3 MOBO
intel 510 series SSD 250GB
Corsair 1000w PSU
LG blueray / DVD
Windows 7 64 HP

I've added some pictures of my BIOS , Turbo V and temperatures everything is default. Hopefully I uploaded the pics correct I will check to ensure they can be viewed. Probably not adding them right lol.

450

450

450

450

450

450

405

Thank you for viewing this and I appreciate your help.
 

·
Leader of the #1 [email protected] Team
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Well Software OCing is frowned upon for one. Better and more stable OC is best to use BIOS. The Power saving options need to be OFF. Load Line Calb. needs to be Medium. Start there
smile.gif
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: WildBill

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Thanks for you reply

Ok, so if I turn off the Power Saving Features and set the Load Line Calibration to medium I can use the turboV cpu multiplier further? What about the voltage to cpu when should I adjust that? exaple if I want to get it to 4.2ghz should I be upping the voltage? Do I have to adjust any other settings?

Load Line options are Auto, 0 , 50 ,100 so medium would be 50%

Which ones are the power saving features? CPU TM function ,anything else?

Sorry still new to this been trying to research more information as I go a long.
 

·
Mr.4way SLI
Joined
·
5,525 Posts
No you need to set everything in the bios an not use software to overclock. That 990x should do 4.0ghz with no issue an even go higher.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ok, Thanks

in the bios

AI OC tuner - manual
CPU ratio - key in 32 to get 4.26 Ghz
Load Line Calibration - 50 %

Which ones are the power saving features?

Also I plan to OC as far as I can with the sytem as long as it's stable and temperatures are ok. What would be the max safe temp you can run a system at lets say for 10 hours straight on a game that puts roughly 40% load on the system? When Im on BattleField3 ultra settings anit aliasing on etc with the default bios settings it says theres around 40% load and my temps are in the 40s.. The max Temp in the manual I belive was 101.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ran CineBench at 4.5 Ghz intel 990x 6 core

The pics are the updated changes I made in BIOS ,I set the load line calibration to Full ignore the auto setting in pic

When I did CineBench Testing for CPU the score was 11.44 but core 0 , 5 , 4 reached 83 degrees. @ 100% load

CineBench Open GL was 50.92 fps all settings high quality in nvidia settings temp was in 40s

When I play battlefield 3 my temps are 50-60.

Do I have inadequate cooling?

Is 50-60 ok for games long periods of time 10 hours straight?

450

450

450

450

450

Thanks Again
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Well posted this yesterday and recieved 2 basic replies which didnt help whatsoever , I researched whatever I could on my own today and seem to be making progress considering I've been doing this for 3 days. Either no one here knows or maybe I'm in the wrong place. Please close this thread. Thanks for your time.
 

·
Leader of the #1 [email protected] Team
Joined
·
5,006 Posts
Disable the C1E also

If it is stable then your good, 80+C is to high, 60C is okay, but the lower the better
smile.gif
So you might need to get a better cooler.

Set CPU Vcore to 1.325 and the PLL to 1.6. If that don't boot try 1.355 Vcore (CPU Voltage)

Sorry been busy today, i am here to help you
thumb.gif
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: WildBill

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Ok Thanks for your response. I just installed the Corsair H100 with the 2 fans and an additional Fan on the top of case. I also installed 12 GB Corsair Dom GT 2000mhz and the RAM fan that came with it.

Goin to test again with the new items above then post results after.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
WOW! lol ran the same tests with the new h100 corsair and the 12 GB memory and what a difference

4.5 Ghz

Results

Based on settings I used above I didn't adjust it yet for what you recommended only because of the new upgrades. (disabled c1e )

CineBench open GL - 51.45 temperatues were low 30s
CineBench CPU Score - 11.5 temperatures were 64,56,59,57,61,63 (100% load) these are the max temps they were lower as well.

Should I be doing something with my RAM? I dont think the multiplier is changing the speed. The speed is 1066 but I have 2000Mhz?

Even at default bios settings Target RAM frequency is set to 1066 ....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
498 Posts
You will have to up the ram freq in the BIOS. Have you ran your OC on prime95? I find that I can run all kinds of different tests, but until it passes prime for a extended period of time it may not be stable. Since you overclocked using the CPU multiplier your CPU fsb stayed at stock keeping your ram at 1066. You'll have to up your ram voltage to 1.65 or whatever its rated for, adjust ram frequently, and you will have to raise your qpi also. I got thar same board and the 980x so if you need help, just let me know.

sent from galaxy II
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Is there anything I should know about with the program? Which test should I run ? I read about small ftts or something and round off calculation. How long should I run the test for?

Should I run this test with my current settings 1st and then later discuss options on how to change the RAM and run test again?

By the way I'll bb in hours that's when I'll run the test you recommend. I've got my phone though so I can view and reply on this forum.

Thanks for your help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,007 Posts
Well if you want a quick way to check stability try linx or IBT, it will really push the temps well beyond what gaming will do so if you're reaching 80°C on IBT then you'll be fine gaming at those settings. I wouldn't go past 1.35v for cpu vcore, there's just no need especially with what you have invested in your rig. You will need to set ram speed and timings manually most likely in the bios as others stated also. I'd shoot for 4.4ghz, run IBT at least 5 runs and keep rebooting, lowering vcore each time til you get errors and then adjust accordingly. Basically you want the lowest vcore possible with the OC you have in mind. 4.4ghz would be a good everyday overclock, of course this is OCN and benchmarking with software like 3dmark will give you reason to try and push your clocks to get the highest possible scores but for 24/7 gaming etc 4.4ghz is a good start. The stability testing will allow you to tweak all your voltages to the lowest possible number while maintaining stability, gaming really isn't a good way to stress for stability. Not sure how much you spent on the new ram, but you're only looking at a single digit % increase in performance with the new ram but with a rig like yours I'm guessing money isn't much of a factor to you? I am surprised of the few responses you've had, I remember when I started overclocking I got a lot more help, but google is your friend on this topic there is loads of info out there if your aren't getting enough help here. I'm sure there are overclocking guides available for your setup even. Good luck though and welcome to OCN!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Ok so for the test I will run the IBT and make the changes as you recommended. For now should I leave the RAM and start with the vcore and do the RAM after?

Is there anything I should know about with IBT changing any settings or is straight forward?

Thanks again sorry if I seemed impatient earlier but I saw other people getting replies that posted later then me so I figured I either was in the wrong place or maybe it was how I presented my questions.

I just wanted to clarify as well The majority of time yes I will be playing games but this overclocking is addictive so once I learn how to set it up perfect for games maintaining health of the PC I'll probably start fooling around with the bench marking tests to see how high I can get. But I agree with your advice and I'd like to take this once step at a time and concentrate on settings for gaming 24/7 everyday use. Later I'll start a new thread for Benchmarking.

The RAM - my 2000mhz was defective- the store exchanged it to 1866 Vengeance as Corsair no longer makes 2000 6bg for same model. But they didnt tell me and I didnt check so when I found out I was not happy. So they changed it to 12GB 2000 mhz in the original Dom GT model.

Money is always an issue but if the wife approves I'm good to go. (I'm very convincing
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
498 Posts
Ibt is good to start with but imo you can pass ibt and then bsod 30 mins after (personal experience) and I've read elsewhere that ibt doesn't stress your processor correctly but I havmt really checked into that. Prime95 you would check round off... and then run blend. I always check merge all workers, makes it easier to keep a eye on everything.

When I get home in 30 mins ill post back with exactly what I disabled in BIOS, and my approach. I've got my 980x stable at 4.5 ht on ( and stable to me is passing 24hrs prime95 blend) . Never had a bsod after passing.

sent from galaxy II
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
498 Posts
(Now this is just what i did). Go into the Bios.
Set AI overclock Tuner to manual.
Leave the fsb alone and set cpu multi to 25 (or whatever the base is for your chip).
In cpu config disable: CIE, CPU TM ( I dont do this but other guides say to do it initially then change back later), Speedstep
Go back to extreme tweaker page and adjust your LLC ( i use 100%, but other use 50%) it affects your vdroop
set cpu volt to 1.3, cpu PLL to 1.8, qpi to 1.3, leave all others at auto for now.
Reboot

Then once windows opens, open up your temp reading program to keep a eye on, open up turbo v, and open up IBT and set it at 3-5 passes very high and select 12 threads (not auto). run IBT and if it passes you can up your multi with turbo v and re run. Do this until you reach your goal freq, temps get to high, or IBT freezes up or you get a bsod. If it freezes most likly needs more vcore. With bsod's the code it puts up gives you a idea of what needs to be changed (bsod 101 means more vcore, etc). Theres a link around here that show what the bsod codes mean, probably just search it in the site search and you'll find it.
Keep track of your voltages and any changes you make, it helps alot when trouble shooting. Once I reach my goal, I then run prime95 blend for 12 to 24 hrs (some say after 12 hrs with no errors your good, I go 24hrs just because I've had it pass 15 hrs and then bsod while folding). Usually after I pass IBT, and start running prime Ill end up having to up some things to get it fully stable.

Heres the guide I kinda went byhttp://www.overclock.net/t/538439/guide-to-overclocking-the-core-i7-920-or-930-to-4-0ghz , it tells you what everything does and tell you some of the things to change with bsods and prime freezes. Once you read you can kinda get a feel for what to change, it say for 920-930 but the same principles apply for your chip also.
I know i'm kinda rambling, going on 29 hrs no sleep
redface.gif
, If you need any help just post and I'll see If I can help out after I get some Zsssss!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Set 4.4ghz vcore at 1.34 (133.5 & 33) Set RAM freq to 1600 (Auto to multi and volt) Running P95 atm, Blend , Round Off , Merged windows its been on for past 30 minutes temps are not reaching above 67 so far most are mid high 50's no errors yet..

How long should I run it for?

Also I noticed in the BIOS my ram voltage is yellow? kinda scared me is this ok?

lol sorry jumped ahead of you ^^
 
1 - 20 of 81 Posts
Top