Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks! I'm looking to set up a home server with some of the parts from an older PC but I'm not sure how I should configure it. I have a technet subscription so I have access to Windows Server but I'm looking at other options. I also have a budget for any components I might need.

Intended use:

- File Server to replace a small 2-bay synology nas that I've been using with my HTPC.
- Testing and developing web applications using vm's.
- pfsense router

The hardware that I have available to use:

- Intel i7 980x @ 4.4 - 4.6
- EVGA Classified X58 motherboard
- 48GB - 6 x 8GB DDR3 RAM
- Intel Gigabit NIC
- 2 x 240GB Corsair Neutron GTX SSD
- 2 x 640GB Western Digital Black HDD
- 2 x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
- 4 x 3TB Western Digital Red HDD
- Silverstone 1500w PSU
- Corsair 800D case

·
Premium Member
8,040 Posts
You could do all that on something 1/6th of the spec. In fact I do do all that (and more) on a system 1/6th of the spec.

edit:
Also, why the mismatch of drives:

The SSDs I can relate to (though personally I wouldn't bother), but I'm a little confused by the choice of your HDDs.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plan9 View Post

You could do all that on something 1/6th of the spec. In fact I do do all that (and more) on a system 1/6th of the spec.
Right, I could definitely do that. Except that I have all of these components sitting unused atm from an old build. I either sell it to buy something more appropriate or use what I currently have.

·
Premium Member
8,040 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by juryan View Post

Right, I could definitely do that. Except that I have all of these components sitting unused atm from an old build. I either sell it to buy something more appropriate or use what I currently have.
ahhh, that makes more sense then.

I'm surprised and impressed you have 48GB of RAM laying about though

·