Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I've recently been surfing the forum here for tips on overclocking as I'm new to it. Just recently built myself a gaming rig. The specs are as follow:

CPU: i5-2500K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-C14
MOBO: ASUS P8Z68-V
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.5v
VGA: MSI Twin Frozr II 2GB/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti
SDD: OCZ Agility III
PSU: Coolermaster GX-750
BOX: Coolermaster HAF 922

I'd like to give props to Sean Webster for his BIOS template since we both have the same CPU and MOBO. With his template, I am currently running Prime95 to see if I can reach 12 hours stable at 4.7GHz. So far I'm an hour into it and my max temps so far are 60, 66, 65, 66 on each core respectively but mostly hovering around 55, 61, 60, 61. The core voltage is bouncing around at 1.384v - 1.392v.

I originally wanted to shoot for a 4.8GHz overclock while staying below my limit of 1.4v but I kept getting BSODs. Perhaps I'll try again later down the road when I'm more comfortable with breaking the 1.4v barrier.

As a note for those interested in the Noctua NH-C14 CPU cooler, I did have to remove the heat spreaders on the 2 Corsair Vengeance modules closest to the CPU to allow for the dual fan setup.

Hopefully in about 11 hours, I'll be able to upload some screenshots to join the Sandy Bridge Stable Club.

UPDATE:
Just got a BSOD. Looks like I'll have to up the offset voltage and put it even closer to my 1.4v limit. I'm starting to think I got a lemon in the CPU lottery.

Yup, voltage is now fluctuating from 1.392v to 1.4v.

·
Registered
265 Posts
V nice volts for 4.7, i need around 1.42ish but im on 4.8 @ 1.45 currently tweaking for stability which will be my 24/7 run, then test for what i need for 5ghz without oc the blck.
What a chip you chose to start learning to oc in lol there are so many volts to play about with to balance but nice so far.

·
Banned
1,240 Posts