Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello.
I'm looking into buying a 27", 1440p, 120/144hz monitor. Currently using a GTX970. I've never used an IPS panel before - just TN and VA. Budget's unlimited.
A few things I'm hoping to improve as I move on from my Samsung S24C750 (VA) which I'm quite happy with:
1. Screen tearing - something I experience quite a lot while playing games such as Overwatch and Battlefield 1.
2. Blur
3. Size/Resolution - I work with large Visio drawings.

While I could play competitive Overwatch for hours, it's not the only thing that concerns me. I'd say I'd rather avoid TN because I'm familiar with the color shift you get from different angles, and the contrast/colors don't feel as natural, and since I play other games and browse the internet, I care about these parameters.

I got to try out the LG 32GK850G (VA). Size was too big for me but the monitor itself wasn't bad. I couldn't really tell the difference between G-Sync ON and OFF (also tried V-Sync ON and OFF in combination). I couldn't see the tearing I see so much with my current setup. Overall, I was really happy with it.

Which leads me to thinking: is G-Sync really worth it? I could really not tell the difference. Or is it ULMB you should really consider when paying the extra $$ for that nVidia board on the monitor?

Thanks.

·
Banned
3,726 Posts
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAD7H7BN2597

best image quality.

https://www.amazon.com/PG279Q-2560x1.../dp/B017EVR2VM

really good image quality

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236466

what I have, and it has really good image quality as well.

the major issue with a lot of the 2K monitors, is that the image quality of the screen is poor. to get a good quality image on a 2K monitor it will cost a premium, over the standard $400 price range.