Overclock.net banner

Advice needed for custom loop purchase (gain on overclock) 13900KF OC

1352 Views 19 Replies 11 Participants Last post by  fma67
Hi everyone,

As I am not really an expert on watercooling and I don't really want to setup back my old heavy and noisy phase change system I would seek advices on purchasing a custom loop.
(something like an alphacool 1260, D5 pump and an EK wb)

Currently using an AC Freezer 2 420mm mounted out of the case and the 13900KF runs at 5.8 all p cores 4.5 all e cores at around 95° on heavy loads like R23 or prime95. (low loads easily runs at 6.1 single/5.9 all p cores and temps below 90°.

As the cpu is currently running beyond 350W during heavy loads, what can be expected in terms of temps and cooling capacity with something custom/extreme?

Many thanks!
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· FOCAL ARIA FTW
9,476 Posts
You are using one of the best AIO on the market and still hit high temps in certain usage scenarios.
Outside of extreme cooling solutions I would not see you drop those temps significantly during your overlock sessions.
Many undervolt these chips and get decent results.
To put things in a perspective : I have the highly unpopular 11900K cooled by Push Pull: EK-CoolStream XE 480 (Quad) | Push EK-CoolStream SE 280 (Slim Dual). Sure, I have the GPU under water as well but in extreme testing with GPU at idle and all restrictions off, I can barely keep the cpu under 90 degrees. For example all core @5.5 GHz I have 93 centigrade with it. I am running two rads with Noise Blocker fans.

• Rep+
Reactions: Ichirou

· Registered
195 Posts