Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a long time lurker, but haven't ever posted here.
I like reading what enthusiast achieve with their builds, it's quite interesting to me.

Recently, I ordered a new rig, and I'll soon be putting it together.
The specs are below:

Case: Corsair 600T
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
PSU: Corsair HX 750W
CPU: i7 2600k
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
VGA: EVGA GTX 470 (Fermi) SuperClocked
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
HDD: Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB

I really did my best picking the parts, reading up on reviews and comparing them to others.

Where I am lost are how to overclock my rig manually. (CPU, VGA, RAM)
I know that ASUS has their auto tune utility, but I want to achieve higher clocks on my own (That's the fun of it after all
smile.gif
),
and I think it just overclocks the CPU, but I may be wrong.

Does anyone have a similar build that can lead me in the right direction with a good safe overclock?
From there I think I can tweak things a bit.

If you're out there, please post your exact settings! I'd greatly appreciate it.
Thank you, I'll post what I achieve once it gets here! Can't wait!
 

·
Just another nerd
Joined
·
5,905 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by session_user;12049108
lower the multiplier, or higher the multiplier. The End.
I shouldn't change the default 100 B clock?
Oh, and do you have any advice for RAM timings or the 470 fermi superclocked?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thank you, I'll definitely read into voltages. That's something I really have no insight on.

If I understand correctly, on my motherboard there are two kinds of SATA ports? And I should use the 6gb rated one, not the "Marvell" one. Right?

And thank you again, for another great response
smile.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,091 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by overvu;12049508
Thank you, I'll definitely read into voltages. That's something I really have no insight on.

If I understand correctly, on my motherboard there are two kinds of SATA ports? And I should use the 6gb rated one, not the "Marvell" one. Right?

And thank you again, for another great response
smile.gif
correct. ocing on this board is pretty easy. You increase the individual core multipliers and the vcore as needed. Here is a link and a video that has about everything you need.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-general/910467-ultimate-sandy-bridge-oc-guide-p67a.html

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vBN-cBPs98[/ame]
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: overvu

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I just watched this video ^^
Glad to hear that the information I got from it is trustworthy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,091 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by overvu;12049589
I just watched this video ^^
Glad to hear that the information I got from it is trustworthy
I mean take it with a grain of salt since its from a "marketing" person but It seems to be pretty good. Read the link above thats where the real p67 overclocking meat is
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by puffsNasco;12049675
your ram will give you problem xD but there is workaround
What's wrong with the ram that I purchased?
Don't make me worry!!
frown.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrillian;12049702
Although This Guide utilizes a different Motherboard, it may be insightful and helpful.
Haha, that's 2 people that recommended that thread now. Thank you kind sir, or lady
wink.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,091 Posts
the ram should work fine its just not on the list of acceptable memory. If you set it manually or use xmp it should work at spec.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
I can still adjust the order for it, I recently made it.
Anyone recommend a set of 2x4GB PC12800?

Or is this good ram and I should just run it at spec?
8-8-8-24 (or lower even?)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,091 Posts
is there a reason you need 8gb of ram? 99% of ppl cant even use up 4gb

gskill makes great ram but ram isnt hard to pick. Get whatever does the speed you want with the lowest timings you can afford. I prefer corsair gskill or muskin but ive used almost all them cept crucial and no name brands. Dont get ocz since they are offically done making ram
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Ah, I see. I plan on streaming games in full 1080P, but I'm not sure I'll need 8 GB of ram. It's just so cheap these days that I figured I'd grab it. Is that a bad idea? I'll save about $50, just say the word ;P
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,091 Posts
I got these but they were a cl7 set so my stock timings are 7-8-7.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145263

I picked them out of random and they happened to be in the mobos accepted list. But like I said get whatever speed you want with lowest timings possible. I would just get 4gb as you wont need more than that for your doing. I can say that from experience as thats all I really do is game too

if you find a set you like you can verify they are accepted by the mobo here. This board seems finicky with ram so I would say get whats already in the mobo list. I woulda got some gskill tbh but I was already buying everything else at microcenter so I figured get the ram and build it when I get home rather than wait 3 days
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Quote:


I took a look at the list.
I am gonna go with 4 gbs but I have a few questions.
Are there any advantages of going with more than 1 DIMM?

Also, I found these on the list:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145290
The timings are the lowest I found, @ 6-6-6-18.

These sound good to go?

Scratch that.. newegg shipped my order immediately and I can't cancel it anymore T_T
Looks like I'm gonna be manually setting its timings ^^
Thank you
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top