Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greatings, I am new to the high performance laptop scene, I've had multiple gaming towers previously which I ran with OCed GPU, however I'm unsure how to proceed for laptops.

I have the new Alienware 18 with the factory OCed i7-4910MQ to 4.5ghz (4.45 shown) with the dual 970M.

Running 3dmarks I'm scoring around 15600-15750 with gpu temps maxing @ 65deg.

I would like to bring my GPU performance closer to the 980s, while keeping my temps in the mid 70s. I do not want to play around with the bios timings, voltages and such, I'm just looking for a mild 10-15% OC.

Has any OC'ed their 970s in this model, if so whats the most recommended OC tool, is it still MSI afterburner for laptops? How much extra power should I give it before starting to bump up core and memory speeds, if any.

Thank you for any help.

·
Registered
3,487 Posts
I dont have the Alienware 18, but I do have the Blade 14 (2015) with a single 970M inside it. Currently I use MSI Afterburner and I've messed with the core a little bit (maybe like 10-15Mhz) but with the form factor of this laptop both the GPU and CPU heat up semi quickly and stay decently warm so I dont bother because honestly I get decent FPS in games just fine. But as I said on what tool to use, I'd say Afterburner, sorry I cant help on how much to actually push the PU's but id suggest just doing it like any other card, push it slowly until its either too hot or starts to artifact, takes time but its the best way to get the most out of your GPU.

·
Premium Member
11,321 Posts
You should be able to overclock the 970ms quite easily with your choice of overclock software.

MSi Afterburner is a popular choice, I personally use it just for the OSD. I use Sapphire TRIXX, just seems to play well with my system.

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the reply!