Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am fairly new to water cooling but I keep reading about sub ambient temperatures using peltier’s and how people try to get lower and lower temperatures using these devices.

It strikes me from figures quoted using water cooling products and projects that most people would be happy if their computers CPU / GPU etc. got anywhere near an average ambient temperature e.g. 22C, from what I have seen 45C is good, just take a look at this graph

View graph by clicking here

So why can’t people just try to attain even ambient temperatures and leave sub ambient temperatures alone!

Or am I missing something?

P.S. I already understand that some people want to over clock the IC’s and therefore need these low temperatures, but I’m talking about the general public not the hardened over clocker’s

·
Banned
7,110 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by scarr

Hi,
I am fairly new to water cooling but I keep reading about sub ambient temperatures using peltier’s and how people try to get lower and lower temperatures using these devices.

It strikes me from figures quoted using water cooling products and projects that most people would be happy if their computers CPU / GPU etc. got anywhere near an average ambient temperature e.g. 22C, from what I have seen 45C is good, just take a look at this graph

View graph by clicking here

So why can’t people just try to attain even ambient temperatures and leave sub ambient temperatures alone!

Or am I missing something?

P.S. I already understand that some people want to over clock the IC’s and therefore need these low temperatures, but I’m talking about the general public not the hardened over clocker’s

Your average person dosent need to go beyond air cooling. However some marketing guru decided that offering this option would sell more computers.
And that person was right. Why dose anyone need a car that can go 0 - 60 in 4 seconds. because its available

·