Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You can see my specs in my sig, let me know what you think

Just got BFBC2, I run the game on advanced w/ the following settings.

SLI Enabled
Res 1920X1080
Level of Detail -High
Texture Quality-High
Shadows - Low
Effects Quality- Medium
AA- 2X MSAA
Anisotroscopic Filter - 4X
VSYNC- On
HBAO- On (<--IDK what this does, but it looks better with it on)

So here is my question, I cannot run the game like this unless I am really pushing my cards. Stock they are the following:

NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 260 OC2 Maxcore
Core Clock630MHz (vs. 576MHz standard)
Shader Clock1350MHz (vs. 1242MHz standard)
Shader Model4.0
Texture Fill Rate45.4 Billion/sec.
Processor Cores216 (vs. 192 standard)
Video Memory896MB
Memory TypeGDDR3
Memory Data Rate2126MHz (vs. 1998MHz standard)
Memory Interface448-bit
Memory Bandwidth119.1GB/sec.

My current OC on them is
Core Clock: 820MHz
Shaderclock: 1757MHz
Memory Clock:2126MHz

I run the fan at 75 on precision and my temps are staying at 49-51C under game load.

Am I going to blow my GPU's up with this kinda OC or can I go further?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
65,162 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post
Overclocked GTX260 SLI + Core 2 QAD @ 3.4GHz should be able to max the game out....
http://www.techspot.com/article/255-...2-performance/

A single GTX260 at stock can do 43FPS at 1920x1200 at high:



Tried that, the screen tears and the game runs like ****. What else can I do? I want to run maxed out however have not been able to. I really dont want to push my cards to over 900MHZ. If I even try to go above 4X AA the game is not playable IMO and looks horrible.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,323 Posts
Thats a VERY decent OC, considering its an Oc'd card!! and some sweet temps too,

For some extra stability testing us the Furmark Multi gpu stress test, it gives you real time temps.

Post your results.

good luck
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheTurk View Post
you should be fine as long as you check your temps regularly my 260s can max evertyng in BC2 with still smooth gameplay

Your processor also stomps on my and then scrapes it off on the curb. if im not mistaken, this game runs phyx through the CPU. So you have 8 cores, I have 4.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChosenLord View Post
Thats a VERY decent OC, considering its an Oc'd card!! and some sweet temps too,

For some extra stability testing us the Furmark Multi gpu stress test, it gives you real time temps.

Post your results.

good luck
Why cant I run the game Maxed out, like everything on High, AA 16X Anti Filter 16 and all the good stuff then? What do you think I need to do?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,323 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by mdmsupra View Post
Your processor also stomps on my and then scrapes it off on the curb. if im not mistaken, this game runs phyx through the CPU. So you have 8 cores, I have 4.
8 Cores? in what reality? 4 cores, 8 threads, sorry to correct you!

the i7-980e has 6 cores!!
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,452 Posts
Do what I do


1. Go to C:\\Users\\Anthony\\Documents\\BFBC2
2. Open up the settings.cfg file
3. Scroll down to the command line DxVersion=
4. It is set to auto by default
5. Delete auto and put a 9 so it looks like this DxVersion=9

That will force the game to run in DirectX 9 mode, there's no difference what so ever in terms of image quality between the 2, Only difference is that DirectX 9 runs a lot faster
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
* Score: 1076 o3Marks
* Submitted by Michael @ March 9 2010, 4:04 pm

* App Version: oZone3D.Net_FurMark_v1.8.0_Build_Feb 2 2010_at_10:27:21

* Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
* Number of Active GPUs: 1 (<-----I Enabled Multi GPU but it didnt do it)
* Graphics Drivers: 8.17.11.9621 1-11-2010 - nvoglv64
* GPU Temperatures (start/end):45°C / 52°C

* Bench Duration: 60 sec.
* Resolution: 1920 x 1080
* MSAA samples: 0
* Window Mode: windowed
* Options: none

* CPU: IntelR CoreTM2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
* CPU Speed: 3400 MHz
* Operating System: Windows Server 2007 ver.6.1 build 7600 No Service Pack
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,323 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by mdmsupra View Post
Why cant I run the game Maxed out, like everything on High, AA 16X Anti Filter 16 and all the good stuff then? What do you think I need to do?

Well you're running it at 1920x1080? so thats going to affect the fps, plus the game is quite new! - the drivers aren't the best and nvidia are messing about with there latest driver due to overheating issues, get the beta drivers the 196.34 i think, very good sli support compared to the previous, I'm running the beta and dont have AMAZING fps, its not my hardware but the software....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by antuk15 View Post
Do what I do


1. Go to C:\\Users\\Anthony\\Documents\\BFBC2
2. Open up the settings.cfg file
3. Scroll down to the command line DxVersion=
4. It is set to auto by default
5. Delete auto and put a 9 so it looks like this DxVersion=9

That will force the game to run in DirectX 9 mode, there's no difference what so ever in terms of image quality between the 2, Only difference is that DirectX 9 runs a lot faster


Thanks, hope that helps a bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChosenLord View Post
Well you're running it at 1920x1080? so thats going to affect the fps, plus the game is quite new! - the drivers aren't the best and nvidia are messing about with there latest driver due to overheating issues, get the beta drivers the 196.34 i think, very good sli support compared to the previous, I'm running the beta and dont have AMAZING fps, its not my hardware but the software....
Im running
Version:196.21 WHQL
Release Date:2010.01.19
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChosenLord View Post
Thats a VERY decent OC, considering its an Oc'd card!! and some sweet temps too,

For some extra stability testing us the Furmark Multi gpu stress test, it gives you real time temps.

Post your results.

good luck
How do I enable FMark to run in Multi GPU mode?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,323 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by mdmsupra View Post
* Score: 1076 o3Marks
* Submitted by Michael @ March 9 2010, 4:04 pm

* App Version: oZone3D.Net_FurMark_v1.8.0_Build_Feb 2 2010_at_10:27:21

* Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
* Number of Active GPUs: 1 (<-----I Enabled Multi GPU but it didnt do it)
* Graphics Drivers: 8.17.11.9621 1-11-2010 - nvoglv64
* GPU Temperatures (start/end):45°C / 52°C

* Bench Duration: 60 sec.
* Resolution: 1920 x 1080
* MSAA samples: 0
* Window Mode: windowed
* Options: none

* CPU: IntelR CoreTM2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
* CPU Speed: 3400 MHz
* Operating System: Windows Server 2007 ver.6.1 build 7600 No Service Pack
there should be 2 programs, one for single gpu and one for multi gpu, make sure you have your base profile in the NV control panel to defaults? and there is no crazy optimisations on d3doverrider or nhancer...

They are great temps btw, i hit 70c on the multi gpu stress stest @ 1920x1200 / 4xmsaa / Average fps 73. score something like 5k... its validated somewhere?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,323 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Second Test

Score details for ID = 9e0cdd502001fabd02512301ac56db88

» Back To Scores List

SCORE:21115 points (60000 ms)
Max GPU Temp: 53°C
Resolution: 1920x1080 (W) - MSAA: 0X
FPS: min=15 max=720 avg=357

* Score: 1076 o3Marks
* Submitted by Michael @ March 9 2010, 4:04 pm

* App Version: oZone3D.Net_FurMark_v1.8.0_Build_Feb 2 2010_at_10:27:21

* Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
* Number of Active GPUs: 1
* Graphics Drivers: 8.17.11.9621 1-11-2010 - nvoglv64
* GPU Temperatures (start/end):45°C / 52°C

* Bench Duration: 60 sec.
* Resolution: 1920 x 1080
* MSAA samples: 0
* Window Mode: windowed
* Options: none

* CPU: IntelR CoreTM2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
* CPU Speed: 3400 MHz
* Operating System: Windows Server 2007 ver.6.1 build 7600 No Service Pack

I am running the Multi GPU program, SLI is enabled, and still it will only test 1 GPU. My frame rates are horrible, my computer is not as good as I thought.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
65,162 Posts
What OS is Windows Server 2007?
 
1 - 20 of 57 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top