Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
... not new ...
Joined
·
740 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to make a request of everyone running AMD's <b>16.7.3, 16.8.1, 16.8.2, 16.8.3, 16.9.1, 16.9.2, or 16.10.1</b> drivers with any video card, but especially <b>Fiji</b> and <b>Polaris</b>.<br><br>
As some here may already know, I discovered that my <b>Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4GB</b> was not scaling with memory clocks <span style="text-decoration:underline;">at all</span>. I could set maximum memory clocks and see no gain in performance, or even see a loss, without <a class="bbcode_url" href="https://www.hwinfo.com/" target="_blank">HWInfo</a> showing a single memory error.<br><br>
After returning that card and purchasing an <b>XFX RX 480 8GB GTR</b> I discovered the <i><span style="text-decoration:underline;">same</span></i> problem - I could set <span style="text-decoration:underline;"><i>any</i></span> memory clock, but gain <span style="text-decoration:underline;">no</span> performance. When I downgraded to <b>16.7.2</b> drivers, however, I <i>immediately</i> gained performance almost perfectly linearly with memory clocks:<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2854022/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2854022" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2854022/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 161px"></a><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855495/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855495" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855495/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 162px"></a><br><br><br>
With the 16.8.2 driver, scaling is like this:<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855516/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855516" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855516/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 162px"></a><br><br>
As in, there's a loss of performance at any speed above stock, and it's pretty much flat (this was just one run each, whereas the former charts are 2 runs averaged together, making things smoother - still, I'm rather consistent in my runs).<br><br>
GPU-Z, HWInfo, etc.. all show higher clocks being set, but the screen does not flicker when the memory clocks are set and there is a performance loss for any value other than the default, and no gain with higher frequencies.<br><br>
I need as many people as possible to do similar testing, though you don't need to be fancy with charts or test as many frequencies.<br><br>
If your screen flickers when you set the memory clocks, then the memory settings are likely being set. If it does not flicker, then I believe the memory clocks are not actually being set, despite what GPU-z et. al. reports.<br><br>
Your help is appreciated!<br><br>
--The loon<br><br>
UPDATE:<br><br>
Also, when testing, please lock your GPU clocks! Set manually temperature targets and +50% power target, and use a fixed clock speed! Otherwise we'll have no idea what the results mean <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif"><br><br>
UPDATE 2:<br><br>
I have now tested every version after 16.7.2 - up to 16.9.1 - and all of them exhibit the same problem for me.<br><br>
I have filed two reports with AMD - a tech support request and a driver issue report. <span style="text-decoration:line-through;">No response at this time.</span><br><br>
UPDATE 3:<br><br>
I have now received a couple of responses from AMD tech support, but they have been incredibly stupid responses that seems to demonstrate that they are incapable of understanding the problem. Their last email suggested I upgrade to 16.9.1 to fix my "utilization issue."<br><br>
"Please be infirmed AMD released 16.9.1 version graphics driver recently and the issue currently fixed in the latest driver version 16.9.1. "<br><br>
This is a driver I specifically already mentioned I tested and which exhibits the same problem. I know I'm dealing with the lowest tier techs here, but come on!<br><br>
UPDATE 4:<br><br>
Escalated by AMD support on 9/20/2016.<br>
Tested 16.9.2 with no change - issue still present.<br><br>
UPDATE 5:<br><br>
I received feedback from AMD... and almost missed the response! Took me a week to notice it, not sure how it became marked as read.... may have assumed it was the stupid auto-response they give.<br><br>
Matt B ran quite a few tests, but saw performance scaling with memory clocks. Once I noticed the email, I replied with the following graph to show how underclocking makes it more obvious (and is more important to me...):<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2884712/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2884712" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2884712/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 187px"></a><br><br>
I received a response rather quickly (on 10/4/2016)<br><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">I love overclocking and tweaking so i was trying my best to recreate the issue you described. That's the fun part of the job!<br><br>
I'll let you know if i manage to reproduce it and if i do, I'll file a ticket to get it fixed internally.</div>
</div>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
I have two RX480s. I'm on 16.8.2. I will test this with 3D mark and see if there is a difference in score. I will let you know.<br><br>
AMD drivers so far have been really crap. <img alt="frown.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/frown.gif">
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,114 Posts
Does synthetic bench count?<br><br>
290 1200 core/Stock memory<br><br>
<a href="http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14292809" target="_blank">http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14292809</a><br><br>
290 1200 core/1500 memory<br><br>
<a href="http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14292898" target="_blank">http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14292898</a><br><br>
16.8.2 without Overdrive. Also, I don't use DDU. I'll run crossfire, too, if needed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
card 1: 1320/2250<br>
card2: 1300/2200
<hr class="bbcode_rule"><br><a class="spoiler-link H-spoiler-toggle" href="#"><strong>Fire Strike Ultra</strong> <span class="spoiler-help">(Click to show)</span></a><div class="spoiler-hidden">Run1<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855532/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855532" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855532/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 367px"></a><br><br>
Run2<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855534/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855534" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855534/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 368px"></a></div>
<br><a class="spoiler-link H-spoiler-toggle" href="#"><strong>Fire Strike Extreme</strong> <span class="spoiler-help">(Click to show)</span></a><div class="spoiler-hidden">Run1<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855543/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855543" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855543/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 363px"></a><br><br>
Run2<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855544/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855544" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855544/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 367px"></a><br><br>
Run3<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855545/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855545" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855545/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 367px"></a></div>
<br><br><br>
card 1: 1320/2000<br>
card2: 1300/2000
<hr class="bbcode_rule"><a class="spoiler-link H-spoiler-toggle" href="#"><strong>Fire Strike Ultra</strong> <span class="spoiler-help">(Click to show)</span></a><div class="spoiler-hidden">Run1<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855535/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855535" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855535/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 367px"></a><br><br><br>
Run2<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855536/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855536" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855536/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 365px"></a></div>
<br><a class="spoiler-link H-spoiler-toggle" href="#"><strong>Fire Strike Extreme</strong> <span class="spoiler-help">(Click to show)</span></a><div class="spoiler-hidden">Run1<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855546/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855546" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855546/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 366px"></a><br><br><br>
Run2<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855547/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855547" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855547/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 367px"></a><br><br><br>
Run3<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855548/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="2855548" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/2855548/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 367px"></a></div>
<br><br>
Scores are all over the place with fire strike ultra. I noticed my core clock is ranging between 1250 and 1320 while running graphics test 1. I'm pretty sure I was hitting power limit. Temps were around 75C most of the time.<br><br>
I added Fire Strike Extream scores which had very minimal core frequency dips. Core frequency ranged from 1300 to 1320 on card 1 and on card 2 the frequency never changed.<br><br>
Fire Strike Extreme 3 runs average with memory clock of 2000MHz<br>
11,633<br><br>
Fire Strike Extreme 3 runs average with memory clock of 2200/2250MHz<br>
11,945
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,104 Posts
Scores will be all over the place if you are getting memory errors or TDP throttling.<br><br>
I'm getting linear scaling with 16.8.2, with easily repeatable results on my RX 470.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456007" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>KarathKasun</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456007"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Scores will be all over the place if you are getting memory errors or TDP throttling.<br><br>
I'm getting linear scaling with 16.8.2, with easily repeatable results on my RX 470.</div>
</div>
<br>
Yeah, I think I was hitting power limit.
 

·
... not new ...
Joined
·
740 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456032" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Fantasy</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456032"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Yeah, I think I was hitting power limit.</div>
</div>
<br>
Does your screen flicker when you set memory clocks? That seems to be the giveaway of whether or not the clocks are actually being set and respected.<br><br>
I've observed this on two systems with two cards and four different Windows installations, so it's definitely happening <img alt="mad.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/mad.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
Nope. Screen never flicker. Although I don't think it ever did for me on 16.7.2. But don't quote me on that. I don't remember.<br>
I'm actually going to try 16.7.2 and see if there is any difference in scores.
 

·
... not new ...
Joined
·
740 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456041" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Fantasy</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456041"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Nope. Screen never flicker. Although I don't think it ever did for me on 16.7.2. But don't quote me on that. I don't remember.<br>
I'm actually going to try 16.7.2 and see if there is any difference in scores.</div>
</div>
<br>
That would be a good way forward! Also make sure you don't allow any throttling (even if you have to underclock the card), and also do non-crossfire testing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
Here are the results.<br>
3Dmark Fire Strike Extreme Custom Run. Graphics test 1 and 2.<br><b><br>
Driver 16.7.2</b><br><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2000</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,533</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,458</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,578</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,523</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2100</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,636</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,615</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,615</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,622</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2250</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,709</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,652</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,762</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,707</b></li>
</ul><br><hr class="bbcode_rule"><br><br><b>Driver 16.8.2</b><br><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2000</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,605</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,519</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,492</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,538</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2100</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,604</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,498</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,633</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,578</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2200</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,719</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,724</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,628</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,690</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2250</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,629</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,614</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,622</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,621</b></li>
</ul><br><br>
Well what do you know, you were right !
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,114 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456241" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Fantasy</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working#post_25456241"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Here are the results.<br>
3Dmark Fire Strike Extreme Custom Run. Graphics test 1 and 2.<br><b><br>
Driver 16.7.2</b><br><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2000</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,533</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,458</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,578</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,523</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2100</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,636</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,615</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,615</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,622</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2250</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,709</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,652</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,762</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,707</b></li>
</ul><br><hr class="bbcode_rule"><br><br><b>Driver 16.8.2</b><br><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2000</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,605</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,519</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,492</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,538</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2100</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,604</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,498</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,633</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,578</b></li>
</ul><br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2250</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,629</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,614</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,622</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,621</b></li>
</ul><br><br>
Well what do you know, you were right !</div>
</div>
<br>
Memory OC at 2250 could be unstable. Card has over reached its limit. Try a little lower like 2225 or something. But, drivers do affect oc'ing. updating may cause you to re-calibrate your oc settings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25456264" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>rdr09</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25456264"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Memory OC at 2250 could be unstable. Card has over reached its limit. Try a little lower like 2225 or something. But, drivers do affect oc'ing. updating may cause you to re-calibrate your oc settings.</div>
</div>
<br>
Well you were right. I got a higher score with 2200 than 2250. But it's still lower than 16.7.2.<br><br>
16.8.2<br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2200</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,719</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,724</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,628</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,690</b></li>
</ul>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,114 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25456307" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Fantasy</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25456307"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Well you were right. I got a higher score with 2200 than 2250. But it's still lower than 16.7.2.<br><br>
16.8.2<br><b>Core/Memory 1225/2200</b><br><ul class="bbcode_list"><li>Run 1: 5,719</li>
<li>Run 2: 5,724</li>
<li>Run 3: 5,628</li>
<li><b>Avarage: 5,690</b></li>
</ul></div>
</div>
<br>
Lower than the older driver at 2250 oc. It fits right in between 2100 and 2250, though. I did not see a difference between these drivers with my 290s.<br><br>
The thing is , , , AMD does not do any tests with these drivers with OC'ing in mind. Their update may affect ones stable oc. It has happened in the past.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,829 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25457208" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>rdr09</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25457208"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Lower than the older driver at 2250 oc. It fits right in between 2100 and 2250, though. I did not see a difference between these drivers with my 290s.<br><br>
The thing is , , , AMD does not do any tests with these drivers with OC'ing in mind. Their update may affect ones stable oc. It has happened in the past.</div>
</div>
<br>
Yeah, make sense. <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
I locked my rx480 to 1000mhz down to p3 as you said. I'm running embd 1.1 so +50 is +100 on power. I ran valley because there are no pstate changes for me in valley benchmark so the results are more consistent anyway than firestrike. running 16.8.2<br><br><b>1000mhz core 2000mhz mem.</b><br>
FPS 48.8<br>
Score 2041<br><br><b>1000mhz core 2215mhz mem.</b><br>
FPS 43<br>
Score 1797<br><br>
HWiNFO64 showed 3 memory errors at 2215. Not enough to cause that kind of score drop. I didn't ddu back to old drivers but from my previous testing I was getting very good memory scaling with 16.7.2 drivers. It's not a overclock stability problem as that should show up with memory errors. I think there is a driver issue. loon seems to be correct.
 

·
... not new ...
Joined
·
740 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25475857" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>greytoad</strong> <a href="/t/1609366/amd-16-8-1-16-8-2-memory-clocks-not-working/10#post_25475857"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
I locked my rx480 to 1000mhz down to p3 as you said. I'm running embd 1.1 so +50 is +100 on power. I ran valley because there are no pstate changes for me in valley benchmark so the results are more consistent anyway than firestrike. running 16.8.2<br><br><b>1000mhz core 2000mhz mem.</b><br>
FPS 48.8<br>
Score 2041<br><br><b>1000mhz core 2215mhz mem.</b><br>
FPS 43<br>
Score 1797<br><br>
HWiNFO64 showed 3 memory errors at 2215. Not enough to cause that kind of score drop. I didn't ddu back to old drivers but from my previous testing I was getting very good memory scaling with 16.7.2 drivers. It's not a overclock stability problem as that should show up with memory errors. I think there is a driver issue. loon seems to be correct.</div>
</div>
<br>
There we go!<br><br>
It's an easy thing to miss if you're just assuming things are working as they should be <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif"><br><br>
You can get about 500 errors/second and still see performance improvements with a 25Mhz increase over 0 memory errors, so 3 errors, total, is definitely not an issue.<br><br>
I'll file a report with AMD now that I have three users recognizing the issue - and I can reproduce it on two cards, two systems each, and several clean OS installs, with two versions of Windows.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
Interestingly, I get a slight bump from memory scaling at max overclock 1450/2000 vs. 1450/2215. 53fps vs 55fps. It's still lower than the 61 fps and 2530 I was getting with 16.7.2. vs 53 on stock ram and 1450. I'm going to uninstall the drivers ddu and go back to 16.7.2 maybe.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
I went back to 16.7.2 after a uninstall/ Safe Mode DDU uninstall, reboot load 16,7.2 and embd 1.1r2. I'm running 4.9/4.5 cache for this run. I've dropped down from my previous runs.<br><br>
Valley:<br><br><b>1450 2215</b> I get<br><br>
fps 60.2<br><br>
score 2520<br><br>
at <b>1450 2000</b><br><br>
fps 56.9<br><br>
score 2382<br><br>
With the 16.8.2 driver 56 fps was as high as I could go.<br><br>
I have to say I loaded 16.8.1 over the top of 16.7.2 and was still getting good valley scores. I didn't have lower valley scores until 16.8.2. I'll try doing a ddu reinstall of 16.8.1 and see if it was just a setting maintained from 16.7.2 that allowed 16.81 to work. If it fails to scale after a clean install then we'll know, but at least we'll have a work around to get the ROTR performance boost back. (I'm not done with that game.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,104 Posts
Copy paste from my post in the Polaris owners thread...<br><div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">1750->1800 = negative scaling<br>
1750->1850 = no change<br>
1750->1925 = slight gain<br><br>
This is no matter what my core speeds are. Sometimes the clocks apply properly and I see a comparatively huge gain in performance, but its sporadic.<br><br>
Pretty much pulled everything back to stock levels with boosted power limit because 1400 only shows ~7% gain. Not worth the extra power and noise, perhaps when these memory clock issues get ironed out. When everything is working properly the gains are up to 15%, but that is not reliably repeatable.</div>
</div>
<br>
Memory clocks with 16.8.2 sporadically get applied, have not found any repeatable procedure to get them to "stick".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
394 Posts
Ok. I uninstalled 16.7.2. I did a DDU from safemode reboot and loaded 16.8.1.<br><br>
I set it to 1000mhz from p3 to p7 and 1000mv because I get artifacts if I don't have at least the voltage of my memory controller. No memory errors oddly, but artifacts On my 4790k at 4.8/4.5 this time.<br><br>
Valley:<br><br><b>1000 mhz GPU 2205 mem .</b><br><br>
47.7 fps<br>
1996<br><br><b>1000 mhz gpu 2000 mem</b><br><br>
46.8 fps<br>
1957 score<br><br><br>
So there was scaling. I'll re-test at 16.7.2 and 16.8.2 making sure that I have at least 1000mv for all the pstates. I think I was at 887 last time. Anyway, it kinda scaled. Just not quite as much as expected. I'll finish the testing tomorrow. It's been a long day. Thanks.
 
1 - 20 of 47 Posts
Top