Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was looking at getting a computer with a FX-55 prcessor OCed to 2.73Ghz. I was wondering if this is a good processor and if I could OC it more with water cooling. <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,338 Posts
FX-55's have been known to oc to 3.0 GHz on air.... depends on the stepping, but i'd say yea, you could easily push another .1-.2 GHz out of it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,485 Posts
It's a very good processor, as are all the San Diego cores. It should reach 3 Ghz or more with the right board and good air cooling. The multiplier on the chip goes up to 14 ( I believe) which allows you to go with a lower FSB if you like.<br><br>
It's selling for a lot less than it did in its day, but that's more than twice the cost of the 3700+ ( E4).For that kind of money, you can almost get a good Core 2 Duo from Intel, which will be a faster ( I'm reluctant to say MUCH faster) CPU for the money.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: todd258

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,588 Posts
Just out of curiosity, why are you going with an FX-55? You could go dual-core with a X2 3800, overclock it, and get better performance from the chip at a lower cost.<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562</a>
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: todd258

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,831 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>TheLegend</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Just out of curiosity, why are you going with an FX-55? You could go dual-core with a X2 3800, overclock it, and get better performance from the chip at a lower cost.<br><br><a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562</a></div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
my X2 3800+ hit 2.6ghz. if you're using a single thread thats worse performance.<br><br>
a core 2 duo would be better than any of them <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin"> lol<br>
sry i had to be the one to say that.<br>
the FX-55 is a good chip though.
 

·
Retired
Joined
·
2,423 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>TheLegend</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Just out of curiosity, why are you going with an FX-55? You could go dual-core with a X2 3800, overclock it, and get better performance from the chip at a lower cost.<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103562" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562</a></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>That kind of depends on the stepping you recieve. With the X2 3800 a high overclock is not really guaranteed (though ill admit they all do seem to oc well), with the FX-55 you are all but guaranteed a substantial oc. I would agree with TheLegend though, go with a dual core, single cores are becoming obsolete in the face of today's and tomorrow's software.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Well it is a whole computer, which I can hopefully get a really good deal on. It has the FX-55 with 1GB of OCz, dual 74GB WD Raptor 10K RPM hdds, Sound Blaster AUdigy 2 ZS, PCIx ATI Radeon X800 XT Platinum Edition 256mb, ASUS A8N Deluxe mobo, Antec True 550W, and a couple other things. Someone I know is selling it, so I am hoping to take advantage of the oppurtunity. ANyone have an idea how much all this would be worth?
 

·
Retired
Joined
·
2,423 Posts
Since its used, id say: 150 for Proc, 50 for soundcard, 60 for PSU, 100 per raptor, 100-120 for Ram, 100 for video card, 70 for mobo, and 30 for case (not sure what it is) so total... is around 760-780, id say offer 650. <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" />
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: todd258

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,588 Posts
600-650 seems like a fair value for that rig.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,485 Posts
I agree- $600-$700 is fair to the seller. $500 would be a killer deal for you <img src="/images/smilies/gunner2.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Gunner2" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
He is putting a lot of his games with it too. 15 games and it's a case with temperature readings on the front. Lol That's all I know...it doesnt look like a really cheap case. All of the games are pretty new, BF2, Half Life 2, Rise of Nations, Neverwinter Nights, etc. It also comes with a MX laser mouse by Logitech, keyboard, mouse, etc. I have no idea why he isn't keeping all of this stuff, but he wants to get rid of it all.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
He is planning to upgrade, but there really is no reason to sell all of his games and stuff. Lol Well I don't care wat he sells, cuz I want to buy it all. Anyone have a price on all of the games and stuff and the computer together???
 

·
Retired
Joined
·
2,423 Posts
Id say 800 or so if he is adding in all 15 games and a nice mouse in keyboard, maybe even 850 when you consider how much games cost.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Well i have most of the games already. so I would probably be selling them. Hoepfully I can get some more rep soon to sell stuff on here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,439 Posts
Id still say around $750 <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Old school
Joined
·
14,377 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>todd258</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Does anyone know how Antec power supplies are?? Do they make their power supplies good??</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>They are good.. but... Antec Smartpower 2.0 500w seems to be blowing up a lot lately. I've seen like 12 people with an Antec SM2 500w that died. But the Truepower is a good power supply I'd say.
 

·
Retired
Joined
·
2,423 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>todd258</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">Does anyone know how Antec power supplies are?? Do they make their power supplies good??</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Antec is a reputable company. I have owned two Antec power supplies, a TPII 550 Watt (was killed during a power surge, but the surge suppression in the PSU saved my computer parts), and I currently own a Antec NEO 550 Watt HE that has served me well so far.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Okay. I don't know exactly which one it is, but it is not a brand new one obviously. Thanks for the replies everyone. I hope I will be getting this computer tonight and will let everyone know how it turns out.
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top