Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I am fairly new to overclocking and have read most of the tutorials on the site, I just have a couple of questions I need clearing up. When overclocking my cpu, is it best to lower the multiplier and raise the fsb, or keep the multiplier at 12 (default), and try to raise the fsb as much as possible from there. I understand that the cpu speed is multiplier x fsb = clock speed, I am currantly running 260fsb @ 10 multiplier. I have not touched my default RAM timings and they are at 1.1 - 3-3-3-8
I will post up heat and voltage when I get home from work. Any advice how I can improve this overclock.
Thanks
Mike

·
Banned
2,316 Posts
You will see more performance gain by lowering the multi and raising the FSB. However, beware that your mem (if in 1:1 ratio) will be running at the same speed, so you need to be sure it can handle it.

Edit: Just looked at your profile, and you have pretty good ram. So running the FSB at 250mhz (your rams rated speed) should get you a good performance gain .

But as always, increase the FSB a little at a time.

Also, you could probably tighten you ram latency to something like CAS2.5.

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
I would try all avenues. Try raising your FSB without dropping the multiplier and see how high you can get. Run some benchmarks, then drop the multiplier and see how high you can push the RAM. Run some more benchmarks. Then once you max-out your RAM try tightening your timmings. I think that you would have a better overall gain if you lower the multiplier and crank up your RAM. But first see how far you can push the CPU. You might be pleasently surprised.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys, just wanted to make sure I was going the right way about overclocking this system. I will have a play about later tonight, then come back here and ask for more help when I cant do it

·
Premium Member
11,430 Posts