Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
MegaTechPC
19,215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I've never built an AMD system before but when my father in law approached me about building him a budget system the new Kaveri chip sprang to my mind. I know the iGPU in this thing is the best there is and if I can avoid buying a discreet card then the cost is significantly reduced. This is what I put together on NE, can you guys review it and make any suggestions? I already have a case to put this in (CM690II) and he has a monitor. I think this would be a pretty powerful little budget build especially considering the fact that his monitor's resolution is only 1440x900 and he mostly plays Solitaire!
smile.gif
I tried to get the cheapest QUALITY items in every category:

Let me know if you guys have any suggestions please! Thanks!
thumb.gif

·
Registered
689 Posts
Fast RAM is important for these builds, does he game at all or anything of the like(edit ok, so he plays cards. Got it)? The Kaveri will do everything he needs otherwise. Although if I recall Kaveri isn't priced very well at the moment.

I'll see what I can come up with.

*edit because I missed the answer to my own question*

·
Registered
37 Posts
If you are building a APU system always go with fast RAM if there is a need for performance. I did notice your PSU was a rosewill and the RAM wasn't a highly known brand like Corsair or G.Skill. I would recommend not skimping on a PSU and purchase a 80 Bronze PSU from Corsair, Antec, SeaSonic, etc.

·
Registered
689 Posts
Increasing the quality greatly for a small price increase, I'd stick with the Rosewill PSU myself. Keeping most of your build, just making the below changes.

APU+Motherboard Combo($270) - AMD A10-7850K + ASRock FM2A88X Extreme6+ FM2+ / FM2 AMD
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1570588

RAM($75) - Team Zeus Yellow 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133