Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to overclock.net, and newish to building computers.
As in I know what can go with what and the just of what is better. But I suck when it comes to Motherboards.
I wanna build a gaming computer, for roughly about 500 dollars. Doesn't have to be extreme, but I want something that can play the latest games decently.
Im not sure if AMD or Intel would be better. I was leaning towards AMD buut...
Any suggestions?

I know AM3 isn't really gonna be legit till later months, but I prolly won't be buying this till may or so. Just to throw that in.
 

·
Efficiencycionado
Joined
·
5,587 Posts
does it need a case psu hdd? or just cpu, vga, mobo and ram?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yeah, sorry, im talkin like everything for it.
but i really just wanted to know if AMD or Intel would be better for gaming.
 

·
Efficiencycionado
Joined
·
5,587 Posts
$500 is just too low for a decent intel specs for gaming. but if you had like $1000+, go with an i7. hmm what about lcd?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,411 Posts
Total ~$505

At this price range, you pretty much have to go AMD. The Athlon x2 destroys the dual core Pentiums.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I've already got a 24in lcd thats got 1920x1200res. im just gonna use dvi to hook that up.

and im not really lookin for anything bigger than a dual core. i was hopin to keep the dual core 2.7 and up. and AMD has intel way beat on prices for dual cores.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
10,584 Posts
Edit: Low Strife hit the jackpot, but I disagree on the case. Rosewill R230-P-BK, my case, is only 30 bucks and isn't bad looking. It's quiet, simple, unobtrusive, people won't even know where the computer is. The mobo tray is epic as well. I have a bolt-thru cooler, but the tray allows me to remove it without removing my mobo. I love it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
nice build.
i was actually lookin into the MoBo.
but i dont need a big hdd cuz i have an external for everything else.
i can just change that though.

so you would say AMD would be better for my price range?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
oh, and would older dvd drives work? like one from a 2002 hp? or are the cables different?

and, as for the GPU, i was planning on dual-monitoring eventually once i get yet another 24in monitor.
 

·
Efficiencycionado
Joined
·
5,587 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by NakedSuperhero
View Post

nice build.
i was actually lookin into the MoBo.
but i dont need a big hdd cuz i have an external for everything else.
i can just change that though.

so you would say AMD would be better for my price range?

yeah. it's not even a competition. is an lcd still included in the budget?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,411 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by NakedSuperhero
View Post

nice build.
i was actually lookin into the MoBo.
but i dont need a big hdd cuz i have an external for everything else.
i can just change that though.

so you would say AMD would be better for my price range?

Harddrives don't get much cheaper until you start looking at 80 and 160GB models, and you don't want something that slow as your C:/ drive.

Now that I think about it, a single platter 320GB drive would be good.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136074

At this point, an Intel rig would be worse than a AMD one (mainly because AMD chips are so cheap).

Quote:


Originally Posted by gerikoh
View Post

yeah. it's not even a competition. is an lcd still included in the budget?

He has a 24'' 1920x1200... This rig will probably struggle at that resolution (a 1GB 4870 would be best, but hey).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,031 Posts
with only $500, amd for sure!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,190 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by Sonorously
View Post

Gigabyte UD4P
AMD Phenom II 720BE
4 GB DDR3 Ram
ATI HD4870.

nice build however I would stick with DDR2 ram and board now since DDR3 set needs some time to mature

Components:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 Kuma 2.7GHz 95W black edition
Cooling: XIGMATEK HDT-S963 92mm
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P
RAM: G.SKILL HK 4GB (2 x 2GB) 4-4-4-12 Timing
GFX: POWERCOLOR Radeon HD 4830 512MB
Sound: Integrated
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB
Optical: SAMSUNG 22X
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
PSU: BFG Tech LS-450 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified

Total= $546.91
 

·
Efficiencycionado
Joined
·
5,587 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by low strife
View Post

He has a 24'' 1920x1200... This rig will probably struggle at that resolution (a 1GB 4870 would be best, but hey).

missed that one.


yeah he needs a 4870. but i think it's cheaper and faster to go 4830 in crossfire. or wait for the 4770 and xfire them. but he said he'll be buying it around may, there'll be a lot of price drops anyway. and by the time those new 45nm athlon chips will be released. he can even get a quad athlon for $100 i think
let's just wait and see.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
are the 1GB video cards really that much better than a 512?

and can i use an older dvd drive say from a 2002 hp desktop?
or are the cables different?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,411 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by NakedSuperhero
View Post

are the 1GB video cards really that much better than a 512?

and can i use an older dvd drive say from a 2002 hp desktop?
or are the cables different?

At 1920x1200, a 1GB card would help in many games (especially if you enable AA). You can use that older DVD drive, the mobo has a IDE slot.

Also, if you're buying in May, make a thread then. In 2 months, alot will change (well, really only the RV790, but still).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
alright, but as far as the drive goes, would IDE make it slower than sata?

and put it this way, the games im trying to play are games like warhammer, some WOW if i feel like being a loner, crysis a bit, diablo 3(but that wont need much) and newer rpg's and whatnot comming out. and i plan on getting another monitor like i said, but i can just grab another vid card if thats the case later on.

so a gpu in that sense would lead me where?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,411 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by NakedSuperhero
View Post

alright, but as far as the drive goes, would IDE make it slower than sata?

and put it this way, the games im trying to play are games like warhammer, some WOW if i feel like being a loner, crysis a bit, diablo 3(but that wont need much) and newer rpg's and whatnot comming out. and i plan on getting another monitor like i said, but i can just grab another vid card if thats the case later on.

so a gpu in that sense would lead me where?

A 4830 will run those games, but yeah, the Athlon would bottleneck the **** out of a 4870 or similar card if you chose to upgrade later on.
 

·
Efficiencycionado
Joined
·
5,587 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by NakedSuperhero
View Post

alright, but as far as the drive goes, would IDE make it slower than sata?

and put it this way, the games im trying to play are games like warhammer, some WOW if i feel like being a loner, crysis a bit, diablo 3(but that wont need much) and newer rpg's and whatnot comming out. and i plan on getting another monitor like i said, but i can just grab another vid card if thats the case later on.

so a gpu in that sense would lead me where?

no. dvd speeds haven't even reach the max ide bandwith yet. there's no difference at all except the neatness of the cables.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: NakedSuperhero
1 - 20 of 51 Posts
Top