Overclock.net banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Been a lurker for a while and recently decided to try my luck on overclocking the PII 940 BE.

So I have a Cooler Master V8 cooling my stock voltage PII 940. I did a 12 hour burn in and found it stable at 3.48Ghz (14.5 x 240). With Cool n Quiet on my rig idles at 30C, with Prime95 my cores max out at 52C. My ambient temp is about 20C.

My load temperature seems hotter than what others report with the V8. Did I do anything wrong with the installation? I applied and spread Artic Silver 5 on my CPU and slapped my V8 on it. I am trying to get more information before resitting the V8 because it's a lot of work on

--------------------
Antec 900
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.48 Ghz (14.5 x 240)
Cooler Master V8 cooler
GSkill 2x2Gb
Sapphire 4870 512mb
Corsair 850TX PSU

·
Registered
158 Posts
Prime95 completely maxes out all of your cores to 100% use. What people mean by load, I think, is how it runs games or other software such as video rendering and that kind of stuff. There is absolutely no other application that puts as much stress on the CPU as P95 therefore it gives highest temps. When I game, my temps never go above 45C. With P95, they have reached 54C.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response heyman. I've been reading a lot about overclocking but it's my first time actually doing it.

I take it from your post that my setup is fine? Apart from lapping if I really want to I probably don't have to worry about resitting it?

·
Efficiencycionado
5,587 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi gerikoh,

Yes I had my fun running at max (2000rpm) during the Prime95 burn-in. Left it running Prime95 and went to work, came back after 12 hours and saw the max temperature was at 52C.