Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,

I am a newbie on here... so dont' attack me too quickly...

i dont' know if any of you are fimiliar with the amd retail package that could have been purchased lately. it was a amd 64bit 3200+ with a asus KV8SE deluxe.

I heard about this site through call for help and was wondering if anyone else has this combination or knows about it and exactly how much it can be overclocked with manufactorer heatsink and if anyone has done it yet.

thank you...
i'm interested in trying it out.

·
Premium Member
1,730 Posts
Well... first welcome.

Second, of course it can be overclocked. It all depends on the onboard systems you got (ie memory, bios, etc).

Have a look at the AMD overclocking guide. Read your mobo book. A lot of info there. Do not hesitate to ask.

Without knowing anything of your mobo, check if you can change your Front Bus Speed, do not worry about multipliers, your A64 is locked at x11. Read the AMD overclocking guide again. Play with your memory timings. If your computer freezes or locks up, reset the CMOS (instructions in your mobo book). reload default BIOS setting and you are on square one.

I tell you, you will be able to do this by yourself very soon, just make sure you read the literature that came with your motherboard, and the AMD oc guide.

Perhaps in the future, you could upgrade the stock heatsinkand fan, that should give you some room (temperature wise) to oc even more.

Enjoy!

·
Premium Member
9,589 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

You're going to be limited when using the manufacturer heatsink, but you should still be able to squeeze out a little bit of clock speed.

On a scale of 1-10, how familiar would you say you are with computer hardware?

On a scale of 1-10, how familiar would you say you are with the BIOS of a computer?

These two questions will help us get you started overclocking

·
Banned
7,110 Posts
Heres the board