Overclock.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

So I've had my water cooling rig up and running for about a month now and everything seems fine. But I'm not 100% what kind of temps I should be seeing in my CPU and GPU.

Currently I'm running my i7-950 at 3.72ghz with the vcore set at 1.28xxx in the bios but CPUz shows it topping out at 1.264 under load, and usually hanging around 1.248 for the most part. When I first started OC the CPU I had vdroop set to auto in the bios and I was getting 1.200 under load (set at 1.2565 in the bios) on the CPU at 3.5ghz and it passed prime 95 for 4 hours and IBT 30 runs at max, but I didn't really feel comfortable at that level. I was getting 48C on the hottest core (no HT enabled) at 20~C ambient.

So I recently upped the Vcore to the current levels and turned on HT. Idle is the same, 32 on the hottest core (other monitors read 29-30, but "real temp" has it at 32 and its the highest so I'm going with that) with 23C ambient. Without HT it was maxing out at 51C under IBT Max for 30 runs at 3.72ghz, with HT on its now maxing at 60C (56-57 in other monitors) in IBT max for 30 runs.

The GPU on the other hand is sitting at 27C while idle and loads at 42C using the OC listed in my specs. I feel that's pretty killer for that.

Question is these temps good? What is the max temp I should be pushing this chip to? I've seen some people state 77C under full load for 4.0ghz at like 1.28 volts, so I figure I'm in the clear, but I always figured max was some where around 70C.

And another thing, how tight should the EK HF supreme be on my CPU? I have the screws tightened down just beyond flush, yet the directions don't really tell you much on how tight they should be.

And lastly...Running a Black Ice 360 Stealth X flow with 3x 2500 RPM fans as pull and 2x200MM fans as push, Black Ice 120 Stealth with 2x 1500 RPM fans as Push/Pull.
 

·
PC Enthusiast
Joined
·
3,511 Posts
At load, my CPU is 64'C on Core one with prime, GPU at 44'C max 20mins after running Heaven 2,1
 

·
PC Enthusiast
Joined
·
3,511 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lune;12058208
wait what? 1.28 for 3700 mhz? 1.28 is enough for 4.2
not neceseraly, Every chip is different
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Eh I know its over kill, the chip seemed completely stable at 1.200 @ 3.5 so...but I figured I was going to hit 4.0 soon, so I just set it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,329 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pangeltveit;12058332
not neceseraly, Every chip is different
Still 1.28 is just way to high for 3.8.. I got like 3 920's and 975 + 2x 980x all run 4.2 around that voltage.. I don't get this whole thing with *Every chip is different* when all my friends are using my settings.

I use 1.18 for 3.6(almost 3.7) on all chips

Should try it.. pretty sure it will work

Also might wanna remove this HT garbage totally useless
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,988 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lune;12058437
Also might wanna remove this HT garbage totally useless
That is why you're able to run at lower voltages mate. You have HT disabled.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CookieSayWhat;12058855
Eh I have an i7 might as well use it right?

Any one know about how tight to tighten down the Water block?
I tighten mine with my fingers until I cant get it down any further, not sure if I should have it that tight, but no problems so far, make sure your using the standoff's though.
wink.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
525 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CookieSayWhat;12058855
Eh I have an i7 might as well use it right?

Any one know about how tight to tighten down the Water block?
From the manual: "Standoffs are used to prevent possible
overtightening of screws and causing potentional damage to PCB."

That being said, I use finger tight and ensure that I am tightening an even amount in a X fashion (top left, bottom right, top right, bottom left). I don't think any more pressure than that is needed.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,329 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimpleTech;12058703
That is why you're able to run at lower voltages mate. You have HT disabled.
Enabled or not, same voltage just diff temps that's why I don't use it. When you go for higher clocks it might require 1.29 instead of 1.28 because of HT but not that it matters. 1.28 is just say to much for 3.8 u should play around with ur processor and use it in it's best way.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18,219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lune;12059559
Enabled or not, same voltage just diff temps that's why I don't use it. When you go for higher clocks it might require 1.29 instead of 1.28 because of HT but not that it matters. 1.28 is just say to much for 3.8 u should play around with ur processor and use it in it's best way.
Lol you got a 980x that already has 6 real cores so you don't really even need ht.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Quote:


Originally Posted by mhaneline
View Post

From the manual: "Standoffs are used to prevent possible
overtightening of screws and causing potentional damage to PCB."

That being said, I use finger tight and ensure that I am tightening an even amount in a X fashion (top left, bottom right, top right, bottom left). I don't think any more pressure than that is needed.

Yeah I just don't want to do any harm. But I guess if my temps are good I probably shouldn't mess with it.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top