Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my dilemma, I'm a student in college and have a limited budget of about $800. I've previously enjoyed building and piecing together a PC but I really don't have the time to do it anymore. I really wanted to go for a new AMD build that would keep up with today's and future games, however I really haven't had time to look into parts, etc.

Most of you keep up to date with parts and know what I should expect. Is $800 feasible and if so, is their any company that would build it for me for that price or should I expect to do it myself?

·
Registered
3,777 Posts
it takes between 15 and 20 minutes to build a computer, Not including OS install.

Your better off doing it yourself, Dell is overpriced along with alienware.

You could however go for Ibuypower Pcs on newegg

the time it take to order a pizza is all it takes to build a computer.

I too am a College student on my own with a job as well, I have plenty of time to do homework, Work and of course upgrade my rig and clean it all the time. You surely can't be that short on time.

You could build a nice Phenom2 machine with an HD4890 for your price range

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I could carry over the HDD and CD/DVD drives. I'd rather not touch anything else because something fried the motherboard/PSU and I'm stuck using my Mac that I had to buy for my Digital Media major.

If I bought that Phenom II X4 940 Deneb what motherboard and ram should I look into? Nvidia or ATI etc, sli? Possibly up to $900.

Are these Cyberpower PC or ibuypower's reputable from newegg?

·
Banned
3,774 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by That_guy3
View Post

it takes between 15 and 20 minutes to build a computer, Not including OS install.