Overclock.net banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I was wondering, with my Gigabyte G-Power Pro, i have my cpu overclocked to about 3.56ghz and i wanted to know if 41 degrees celsius is a good temperature for it to be idling at at first. But then i have it on for a while and then it jumps to about 51 degrees celsius. Im kind of new to the overclocking thing and was wondering if anybody could help by any chance? thank you it would be very much appreciated.

·
Registered
604 Posts
41C is alright, but the 51C idle isn't so good... Could you take a picture of your case with the side off so we can get an idea of what you're dealing with?

·
Premium Member
9,824 Posts
It looks like your cable management could use some work. Those IDE cables that are running horizontally across your case really inhibit air flow from your front fans (assuming you have front fans). Wire ties, twist ties, and electrical tape are great tools for keeping cables as far out of the path of the air flow as possible. Sometimes it's just not possible to arrange cables as well as you'd like, and in those cases, round cables (IDE, floppy drive) and cable sleeving can help a whole lot.

In general, idle temps don't mean a whole lot, and it's difficult to make a judgement on temperatures without knowing the ambient temp of the room. You'll want to keep your full load temp at or below (preferably 5-10°C or more below) 65°C.

·
Premium Member
3,804 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Taeric