Overclock.net banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I build computer since more than 20 years, I'm not an hardware guru, I work in a bank as software architect so I'm more into software than hardware, but I know how to assemble my computers.

I buy Asus since more than 20 years, this is a PC running an Asus CUSL2 motherboard with an Athlon XP1800+ with a multiplier unlocked thanks to a silver glu (old overclockers knows what I'm saying).
In 20 years I never had such a bad exprience like this. Asus is not Asus anymore.

Circuit component Computer hardware Electrical wiring Cable Computer case

I'm not here to argue about overclock related issues.
I know that even 1MHz overclock is not guaranteed to work and as such, I don't complain if my mobo does not OC like I would like but I expect that my mobo MUST work at JEDEC/stocks frequency.

Asus has a design flaw with Z690 Extreme when running 4 sticks of memory even a JEDEC specs / stock frequency.

To control the RGB on the Corsair Dominator stick, you need to "Disable SPD Write protection" in BIOS, this is true on Asus mobo only.
If SPD Write is enabled, I can manage the RGB on the RAM and I have the problem.
If SPD Write is disabled (this is the asus default), I can't manage the RGB on the RAM (as expected) but I have no problem.

Corsair doesn't want to assist me because they say that it is a known problem related to Asus mobos and that Asus must fix it.

Asus ignores the problem and delete all posts about issues on ROG forums and they even ban people on Discord server if you simply complain about issues not beeing resolved.

Guys, think twice before buying Asus and if you have the same problem on Z690 Extreme please report it here:

·
Registered
3,721 Posts
So Asus are trying to emulate Apple? (And many other companies over the years, to be fair...) Ignoring a problem, deleting posts and/or banning users who complain, saying it's someone elses' fault?