Overclock.net banner

ATI/AMD RAID0 < Intel RAID0?

5271 Views 9 Replies 3 Participants Last post by  bad_haze
Why am I not getting those huge burst speeds like everyone else? I am new to ATI RAID0 setups so is there some sort of driver or utility program I am missing to get the most from the controller?
See less See more
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Open the Intel Matrix Manager, right click on the array, and enable Cache Back.

EDIT: Since that's an AMD/ATI controller and not Intel... is there an RAID utility provided by AMD? It definitely seems to be a caching issue.
  • Rep+
Reactions: 1
You'll see a larger increase with more drives.
Quote:

Originally Posted by rpm666
View Post

You'll see a larger increase with more drives.

I don't think so.. it still seems like Write Back Caching isn't enabled. You can tell by the shape of the performance graph. HD performance should always be downward sloping (performance decreases as the head moves inward on the platter). RAID should also be downward sloping as well. If the graph is a flatline, then you know something is bottlenecking. If it jumps around, then it probably is a caching issue.
See less See more
Quote:

Originally Posted by DuckieHo
View Post

Open the Intel Matrix Manager, right click on the array, and enable Cache Back.

EDIT: Since that's an AMD/ATI controller and not Intel... is there an RAID utility provided by AMD? It definitely seems to be a caching issue.

But I have an ATI RAID controller not an INTEL one. I'll check to see if there is something similar to that for ATI RAID controllers.
See less See more
Quote:

Originally Posted by bad_haze
View Post

But I have an ATI RAID controller not an INTEL one. I'll check to see if there is something similar to that for ATI RAID controllers.

I believe it might be called ATI RAID Console.

ATI/AMD is known for inferior RAID when compared to Intel or even NVIDIA.
See less See more
Quote:

Originally Posted by DuckieHo
View Post