Overclock.net banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,781 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am basically a noob when it comes to audio. I am building an i7 rig and I wanna get the best sound quality.
I game, listen to rap, some techno and some rock, and watch some movies/tv shows on my computer.

1 - What soundcard would be good?
2 - Should I get a set of powered monitors around $200 for the pair, or go with something like the Z-2300's
3 - Should I connect speakers using optical or the 3.5mm jacks?
4 - Explain bit-rate in simple terms, like what bit-rate is good quality music.
5 - Where can I download music in flac format?
6 - Is ripping a CD into flac the best possible audio?
7 - Just gimme a basic setup of what I should get and do, like what soundcard, speakers, software, and what format I should make my music.

Right now most my music is crappy .mp3 format and I wanna eventually rebuild my collection and have it in flac. So do I just need to buy CD's to get that quality?

·
Registered
526 Posts
4. It's really hard not to be aware of the difference between the original (vinyl, CD) and bit rates 96kbps-128kbps; it's really noticeable. People who are into music will (or should) easily recognize lower than 192kbps bit rates. In those terms, anything above 192kbps is acceptable. 320kbps is the best quality in MPEG layer 3 audio, and it is close to lossless.

6. Yes, .flac is probably the best solution, if you care about lossless ripping. .wav is lossless as well, but .flac has far superior compression, thus making smaller files than .wav.

.mp3 is not really crappy, as it's hard to hear real differences at home. Playing music on professional sound systems or in clubs is a different story, although even there mp3 can have a nice time. Consider ripping in 320kbps mp3, why not; it's not like you'll be noticing difference.

·
Premium Member
5,442 Posts
1 - Asus Xonar DX.