Overclock.net banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey...

I have replaced a 350W PSU and an old graphics card with an Antec 500W Earhtwatts and a GTX 460 I had laying around, on a neighbors old PC - but I am having difficulties powering it up. It seems that the 4 pin 12V ATX is shortening something - at least whenever I try booting up with that in place - the Antec PSU simply shuts down.

I have tested by removing everything, but I really have no idea why it shuts down. Could there be a short somewhere or is it a bad 4 pin ATX 12V connector?

I am a novice with PSU´s, and I do not even know how the PSU should behave without the 4 pin ATX 12V attached.

I do have another PSU to test with, but it is a big modular 900W and takes forever to strip down and test with, so any ideas are most welcome and could really save me a lot of time.

Thanks...

Poul

·
Registered
94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grnkjr0 View Post

I retested it with another PSU and got same result - powers on for 4-5 secs and shuts down - does this mean that the motherboard is toasted?
Do you have a power supply tester you can use to get a read out on the 4 pin ATX/EPS connector?

Also, have you tried clearing the CMOS? sometimes this works.

If you're still getting some errors, please create a ticket on our website if you want us to RMA your defective unit.

Please go to:
http://www.antec.com/index.php?page=support_online

Feel free to ask me any questions or concerns.

Thanks

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for replying...