Overclock.net banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a noob question but I have to ask since I am a noob:

I had a 6600 LE and it was artifacting really bad on css I tried to reinstall driver, checked my installation of the card itself and few other things I could think of. Nothing worked so I called tech support and they said bad card!
I sent it back for replacement but in the mean time I bought a 7800GT

I got it yesterday, installed it, new driver and all and its doing the same thing.
I was wondering if it could just be my settings in the nvidia control panel?
any ideas? I could show a screen shot if it will help? Oh ya it only does it on some maps like dust2 and aztec I did reinstall game but do dice.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ya that's it!
pci-e What are the odds of 2 bad cards? I have some bad luck but....
I checked my bios the pci-e is selected for primary use. I see on the evga site people are having similar problems, maybe bad batch of cards. But that doesnt explain my other card doing the same thing! Both are stock, both new, temps good, a river of knowledge and not a drop to be had

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
OK after about 19 hours of straight googling
and reading every thing I could I think I've got it?
I did everything short of clean install and finally after reading how volts could effect my card, and a reply from evga's support tech, Jacob K, "Make sure the 12v rail is not dipping below 11.75v"
I got out my fluke.

Thanks to a reply in another thread by slow'puter:Turn off your PC.
Insert DMM leads on the molex
Turn on PC.
repeat as necessary

12v: red lead on the orange lead of the molex, black lead on any black of the molex.
5v: red lead on the red lead of the molex, black lead on the black of the molex.