Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the last month or so I've been talking about rebuilding my media rig (nintendo, TV tuner, jukebox) but just never got around to it. I was always looking for deals on either used or open box gear and even when I'd find something I liked, I would say to myself; for only $XX more you could have.....<br><br>
This forever prolonged me actually making a decision and and parts I did have just layed in neglect.<br><br>
Last week I realized I had to just bite the bullet and get it finished but I still couldn't decide what I wanted, so in a moment of gluttony I ordered my top 2 choices for most of the compoents I still needed to purchase. And so it began....<br><br>
I had made the decision to build two computers, test them out, keep one, and sell the other.<br><br>
Components for reuse from previous build:<br>
ASUS P5LD2<br>
Enermax Liberty 500w<br>
Aspire X-Dreamer case<br>
Freezer 7 Pro<br><br>
Components I purchased:<br>
1g Geil Ultra DDR2 667 (2x512)<br>
1g AMPX DDR2 667<br>
WD 250g SATA HD<br>
Samsung 160g IDE HD<br>
(2) Lite On DVD-RW Drives<br>
Gigabyte S3 motherboard<br>
One cheap case with 480w PSU<br>
Pentium D 805<br>
Celeron D 356<br>
Freezer 7 Pro<br>
ATI X850XT<br>
ATI X1300XT<br>
Win XP Home (Have to stay legal) <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Thumb"><br><br>
TOTAL SPENT: $847.89<br><br>
Rigs were assembled as:<br><br>
Rigs #1<br>
Pentium D 805<br>
1g Geil Ultra<br>
DVD<br>
160g IDE<br>
Gigabyte S3<br>
X850XT<br>
Enermax PSU<br>
Aspire Case<br><br>
Rig #2<br>
Celeron D 356<br>
P5LD2<br>
1g AMPX<br>
SATA 250g<br>
DVD<br>
X1300XT<br>
Cheap case and PSU<br><br>
Tonight I finished getting rig #2 overclocked, and I must say the prelimenary results are pretty shocking. Only have had time so far to do some SuperPi runs but by the end of the week I should have some 3dmark scores.<br><br>
Results so far:<br>
Rig #1<br>
OC @ 3.8ghz<br>
RAM @ 380mhz (Having issues with dividers in BIOS, still need to update the BIOS)<br>
Temps: 35 Idle, 50 Load, ambient 24 Freezer 7 Pro, one case fan<br>
1.45 vcore in windows<br><br>
Rig #2<br>
OC @ 5.01ghz<br>
Ram @ 533mhz (Haven't tried 667 yet, and still need to update BIOS)<br>
Temps: 41 idle, 61 Load, ambient 25 Freezer 7 Pro, one case fan<br>
1.48 vcore in Windows<br><br>
SuperPi 1M Times:<br><br>
Rig #1 36.25s<br><br>
Rig #2 31.68s<br><br>
The SuperPi times blew my mind, everything I had read about these two processors was that the 805 won hands down. I'm sure in 3dmark the 805 will show its superiority but the SuperPi times surprised me. I also think these times will tighten as I figure out what is causing the divider issue on the S3.<br><br>
What sickens me is that the celeron is only 5 seconds off my best Pentium D 950 time of 26.74, and that was with 2g of G. Skill DDR2 800 on a P5WD2 Premium. Sure, five seconds is a lot, but is noting in comparison to the sub 14 second conroe times I can run now.<br><br>
I'll post some other bench results as I finish them through the week
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
First Update:<br><br>
And it's not a positive one....<br><br>
I completed Rig #2 but found out the X850XT for Rig #1 was DOA.....<br><br>
That put a small damper on things but I did get some SuperPi and 3dmark05 runs done on Rig #2<br><br>
The results definately surprised me<br><br><img alt="" src="http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-5/1182098/celeronD.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"><br><br>
I ordered a replacement X850XT and RMA'd the other so I should it have it early next week.<br><br>
Until then I'm going to run SuperPi and 3dmark05 using the X1300XT out of Rig #2. Atleast this way I'll be able to truly compare the benchmarks and establish a baseline difference betweem the X850XT and the new X1300XT.<br><br>
Should have some more results tomorrow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,264 Posts
5 Ghz woa baby
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
Sounds like they're coming along pretty sweet! Hey I have the X1300Xt card and I was wondering if you could post what you modded on the card. I'm getting it in the mail in a few days, and I'd like to know how you achieved such a high 3dmark score. Thanks man
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Little update - before tonight<br />
<br />
X850XT arrived today so I can get back on the horse with getting these benched.<br />
<br />
Rig #1 is acting up, showed some signs of instability yesterday during an install of acrobat 7. I had to back the FSB down to 190, may just need some more VCORE but I didn't have time to fool with it last night. (Girlfriend wanted to play WoW and I was in the middle of a CSS tourney)<br />
<br />
Once I confirm the X850XT is working as it should I'll run tests with it in both rigs and get the SuperPi and 3dmark05 results of Rig #1 w/ the X1300XT in it.<br />
<br />
Binormalkilla - video card is unmodded so far, in fact it's not even overclocked. I was so busy last week I didn't even get a chance to install ATI Tool on either rig. I will this week though. Drivers I used were 6.1, because of an inf error I was getting with other versions. Still need to sort that out. I imagine with some overclocking and getting the newer drivers to work 5k in 3dmark05 is very attainable.<br />
<br />
The X1300XT really suprised me as a budget video card. 12 Pipes, decent core and clock speeds, and less than $100.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,338 Posts
...just a thought, but isn't 61deg c a little (aka a lot) warm?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,685 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>ae804</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">...just a thought, but isn't 61deg c a little (aka a lot) warm?</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>I'm pretty sure those Celeron Ds always run what an AMD user would consider extremely hot.
 

·
Goodbye
Joined
·
10,269 Posts
That X1300XT is actually an X1600Pro is disguise, that's why it's so powerful for it's class. It was redesigned as a 7300 killer
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
Hey that's really cool to see that you like the X1300XT for it's price. I posted at guru3d.com and they suggested it at first to replace my POS X300 se card, then after I ordered it they said that this card was a POS...go figure. They are really the only people that have said it's not a good card. I really can't afford to run some freaking hoss cideo card bc I'm in college. BTW, which X1300XT is that (i. e. Sapphire, HIS, etc.), and is it the 256 or 512Mb. I can't wait to get it in the mail and installed! Good luck on your projects.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Ok, little more data from some very brief testing last night. Unfortunately I didn't get as much done on these as I wanted because my new DD Torture Rack and all my new WC toys arrived, but that will be different build log.....<br><br>
There must have been a mix up in shipping from newegg because I ordered and X850XT but received an X850XT PE.... not that I'm going to complain though<br><br>
Anyway, here is Rig #1 with the X1300XT:<br><img alt="" src="http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-5/1182098/805_X1300XT.jpg" style="border:0px solid;"><br><br><br>
As I suspected the 805 beat the celeron in 3dmark05, even with the same video card and slightly slower RAM speed. (For some reason the Gigabyte S3 won't boot with a RAM multiplier over 2.5)<br><br><br>
The ironic part is the 805 is slower in SuperPi, which I have to suspect is partly due to the slower ram speed (480 vs 533)<br><br>
Everything is setup for me to test the X850XT tonight and I also probably start a new build log for the Torture Rack install on my main rig.<br><br><br>
Penicilyn - Interesting to know the X1300XT is a rebadged X1600PRO, that makes sense though because these 3mark05 scores are very close to another system I benched using a X1600PRO 512mb with a 940.<br><br><br>
Binormalkilla - The X1300XT I have is the 256mb Sapphire version. I still didn't get to OC it last night, I was like a kid at christmas playing with all my new WC gear. About the only things I'm keeping from my current setup is my cpu block and some tubing <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin"><br><br>
If not tonight, certainly by tomorrow I'll get to OC it. Once I test the X850XT though the cards will stay in their respective rigs so the 3dmark05 scores may be lower that what is truly attainable as the Celeron loses ~100 points to the 805 but it still should give you an idea what clocks you can expect.<br><br>
Also the X1300XT runs suprisingly cool. These rigs only have one exhaust fan each (120mm) and the X1300XT fan only spooled up to 100% twice during<br>
3dmark05 compared to the X850XT I RMA'd which was at 100% constantly. That could have been part of the defect as well though, will have to see tonight.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Another little update:<br />
<br />
Tongiht I tested the X850XT PE in both rigs and ran some 3dmark05 benches. Didn't get much more than that done though because I was working on the torture rack.<br />
<br />
805 with X850XT PE:<br />
<img src="http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-5/1182098/805_X850XT.jpg" border="0" alt="" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOn(this);" /><br />
<br />
Celeron with teh X850XT PE:<br />
<img src="http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-5/1182098/cele_850XT.jpg" border="0" alt="" onload="NcodeImageResizer.createOn(this);" /><br />
<br />
<br />
<br />
Now I have to admit, these results absolutely dumbfounded me. All reviews I've read comparing the two state the 805 is faster than the celeron bar none. I can only guess my results are some sort of abnormality.....<br />
<br />
I'd love to hear some opinions on this one.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
Hey, just letting you know that I got my X1300XT card up to 594MHz stable with a 3Dmark score of 4490...an increase from the stock speed of 500MHz with a score of 4342, all right I guess. Now I guess it's time to add some cooling!!! Hey BTW, do you know of a way to OC the memory on the X1300XT, as I've heard that Sapphire has some kind of lock on the memory. Good luck on you builds!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Binormalkilla - You should be able to OC the RAM with ATITool. I've never heard of a lock on the RAM from Sapphire, but I haven't had time to OC either of the vid cards as I've been down with pneumonia for the last week. <br />
<br />
Those are good 3dmark scores BTW, congrats. I definately think the <br />
X1300XT is good card, and probably the best bargain in the current ATI line up, except for maybe the X1950.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
Man that sucks about the pneumonia, I've had some mystery sickness lately (sinus infection, i think), but which version do you think that I should use of ATItool. The only reason I'm using Rivatuner is for the temperature monitoring support that it offers, as the beta 16 pre5 build won't let me for some reason....also, what driver would you suggest for this card? Right now I'm running ATI Catalyst 6.10, and I'm going to try the NGO optimized and the Omegas, then post my 3dMark results. Thanks for the input dude!!!
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Whodie

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
Well, Omega didn't work....see I have this weird issue with this card where when I uninstall my old drivers, and reboot, it boots in black and white....?......then when I install the Catalyst 6.10 and reboot, then login, it resets to color at the desktop! When I tried the Omega driver, it never even reset to color at the desktop. I spoke with ATI about this, and they said to try the 6.9, but the Omega didn't work, and I can't find the ATI 6.9 on their site, so I'm gonna call them back tomorrow. Does this happen with your card? Should I get a new PSU for this card, too?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,983 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I didn't have those specific problems but I did have some serious driver issues with the X1300XT. When I installed mine it only liked 6.1 that came on the cd. Every other driver I tried whether it was 3rd party or ATI gave me an .inf error. I could not for the life of me figure it out. What ended up working for me was poppig the X850XT in installing the drivers I wanted, shut it down, then pop the X1300XT back in. After that it worked like a charm. I have NO clue why the hell it did that but it was a pain. <br />
<br />
I would suggest, if you have another ATI card you have laying around or a buddy has one, pop it in and try and load the drivers you want. I suggest WarCat drivers, I think his most current ones are 6.9. The WarCat 6.9 are the drivers I used above for the X850XT benchmarks. <br />
<br />
For ATITool I would used .24, the beta .25 is pretty unstable still and .24 has temp monitoring. It actually has GPU, RAM, and Voltage Regulator temp monitoring which is pretty kick ass. You do have to do some tweaking before using it though (2D/3D switching needs to be disabled) but there are plenty of write ups about it in the ATI section. <br />
<br />
Let me know if you can get the drivers to work, if not I'll see if I can find a work around for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,544 Posts
With that X1300XT, you should try to BIOS mod it with a X1600 Pro BIOS and see what happens.<br />
<br />
Try to keep the same manufactures.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Whodie</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403384#post1403384"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">I didn't have those specific problems but I did have some serious driver issues with the X1300XT. When I installed mine it only liked 6.1 that came on the cd. Every other driver I tried whether it was 3rd party or ATI gave me an .inf error. I could not for the life of me figure it out. What ended up working for me was poppig the X850XT in installing the drivers I wanted, shut it down, then pop the X1300XT back in. After that it worked like a charm. I have NO clue why the hell it did that but it was a pain.<br><br>
I would suggest, if you have another ATI card you have laying around or a buddy has one, pop it in and try and load the drivers you want. I suggest WarCat drivers, I think his most current ones are 6.9. The WarCat 6.9 are the drivers I used above for the X850XT benchmarks.<br><br>
For ATITool I would used .24, the beta .25 is pretty unstable still and .24 has temp monitoring. It actually has GPU, RAM, and Voltage Regulator temp monitoring which is pretty kick ass. You do have to do some tweaking before using it though (2D/3D switching needs to be disabled) but there are plenty of write ups about it in the ATI section.<br><br>
Let me know if you can get the drivers to work, if not I'll see if I can find a work around for you.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
I couldn't get the Omega driver to work, and I haven't tried the NGO optimized driver yet: it is based on Catalyst 6.5, I think. I'll look around for the warcat driver and see what's up. BTW I downloaded and installed ATI Tray Tools, and I have to say that is the best piece of graphic software that I've even seen. It really is above and beyond. Now I can overclock my GPU and memory, where with the others I could only OC the core, and not only that but it wouldn't ever go past 607.5 MHz. I'm ordering some cooling parts tomorrow or the day after, so let me know if you have any suggestions. I'm looking at the Zalman VF900 or the Fatality fan and some Arctic 5 right now. Also, I have my OC at 597/423=core/mem, and idling at 46-47C, 65-69 at load (Battlefield 2142).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>NOS---</strong> <a href="showthread.php?s=92c472ab6416178eb1b53b0d775857c3&p=1403416#post1403416"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="http://static.overclock.net//img/forum/go_quote.gif" style="border:0px solid;"></a></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">With that X1300XT, you should try to BIOS mod it with a X1600 Pro BIOS and see what happens.<br><br>
Try to keep the same manufactures.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Ok I was wondering if that would work, considering that they have the same GPU (RV530), but what if this doesn't work out? Will the card be ruined? Also, is there a way to load the BIOS temporarily? Also, I don't have a floppy drive, but I do have a USB flash drive, so could I use this to flash the new BIOS. Thanks for the help!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,444 Posts
OK I found a X1600 Pro BIOS with the same manufacturer (Sapphire) and the same memory size (512Mb) and manufacterer (Hynix), so let me know if this is feasible to do a temporary BIOS flash, or something to that nature: basicaaly I would like to be able to test it before doing this.<br><br>
NEVERMIND THAT IDEA: Someone at guru3d told me that this would turn my card into an expensive paperweight, and the X1600 Pro has the same amount of shader processing unit as mine, and the same core/memory clock speeds too, so I'm stickin with mine.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top