Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i am new at overclocking and modifying. I want to get a cpu heatsink/fan but i dont know which one gives the lowest temp.(°C) on
amd 64 3700+ cpu and epox 9NP1+Ultra mobo

-ZALMAN CNPS9500
-THERMALTAKE Big Typhoon
-THERMALRIGHT XP-120 (w/ a 120mm fan)

Please give me some reasons too...

Thank you...

·
Registered
67 Posts
i have big typhoon on my 3700+ and before i o/c'd it was idleing at 24c. i overclocked it to 2.8ghz and now its idleing at 27-28c. its in a thermaltake tsunami case which has a fan on the side of the case so its blowing air right into the heatsink, so that helps. also i have arctic silver 5 on the cpu.

·
Premium Member
8,376 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by 3xtr3m3

Hey guys i am new at overclocking and modifying. I want to get a cpu heatsink/fan but i dont know which one gives the lowest temp.(°C) on
amd 64 3700+ cpu and epox 9NP1+Ultra mobo

-ZALMAN CNPS9500
-THERMALTAKE Big Typhoon
-THERMALRIGHT XP-120 (w/ a 120mm fan)

Please give me some reasons too...

Thank you...

I have that same setup. I use a SI-120 with a Silverstone 110CFM fan. My CPU is running with 1.68-1.7V @ 31-34*C idle and 40-44*C load.
Edit: The XP-120 will block and render unusable the two DIMM slots nearest the CPU socket.

·
Registered
1,982 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Melcar what do u think if i get a big typhoon, will it block the ram slots ? i don't wanna get the si-120 cuz it will cost me more with a fan and i think; from the reviews i made, big typhoon is a better cpu cooler. Does anybody know if B.t. is compatible with Epox 9NPA+Ultra or not ?
Btw thanks for your replies...

·
Premium Member
8,376 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by 3xtr3m3