Overclock.net banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to the WC world and I have a question. I already had two Gigabyte 7950's in my system when I installed water cooling. As there is no universal water block for these cards I have been looking to swap them out and go with a new GTX 970 and WB.

Will a reference 970 perform as well as the more expensive 970's offered by Asus, Gigabyte and MSI. Since the aftermarket cooler will be coming off for a water block is there much of a performance difference between any of the 970's. Does anyone recommend a better card for this setup?

Zotac offers a cheaper card:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500362

Just wondering if it would compete with he others - ie. G1 or Strix? I seems a little small. Core clock is 1076 vs 1170 for a G1.

Anyone have a 970 on a WB that they think is best? Also, anyone experience bad coil whine with their 970 on a WB? After all, I'm aiming for silence in my system.

Thanks

·
Registered
656 Posts
Geez, unless you're an uber overclocker and/or max eye-candy gamer, you'll find no need to WC a 970. I can't hear my stock 980s even in intense graphics games. Most of the time the fans aren't even turning!

·
Premium Member
6,198 Posts
no that zotac cant be reference at all.

universal blocks fit the 7950 just fine. what problems were you having in the search?

os-wiz, of course you didnt hear your 980 sli spinning up. you run 1200p. im also betting all of the other fans in that case help drown them out. that psu has an 80mm fan and isnt quiet either.
do you wear headphones when you game? thats probably a yes. do you realize your sig links evga 680 sc signature reference cooler cards? what 980s do you have?
ambient noise drowns out so much pc noise and helps mask it so well most people dont know how loud their pc actually is.

·
Registered
228 Posts