Overclock.net banner

1061 - 1075 of 1075 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I'm Stumped

1, there is no option for "Update CRC" in Polaris Bios Editor (v1.7.2).

2, I can't find the hex values "8D 00 00 00 FF" in my bios using HxD to change vcore.

I've been trying to wrap my brain around what I'm missing but I can't figure this out.

I have an MSI RX 480 ARMOR 4G OC card. Any help would be very much appreciated!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I've read about 50 pages of this thread, and another on Polaris bios editing also on this forum.
Seems things have changed over the years regarding drivers and this conversion.
So Can someone please break it down for me..

I have an RX 470 4gb.
What was/is the main reason for flashing the video card bios to that from a 570?
Could the gains from the increased clocks just have been done via modifying the 470 bios? Or is there some other benefit for having the card show up as if it was a 570.(or 580 as I understand was required to get the driver to work?) (Until recently)

Seeing the following update on post#3..
"Update: since the 590, the driver compares the shaders/revision of the GPU. So, only the 480 can be switched to 580 with the no-patch benefit. All other SKU's have to patch the driver."

I may be missing something somewhere on how to patch the driver,(other than just running the ati pixel-patcher.exe) but this brings me back to, can I not get the same gains from modifying the 470 bios? Which I think means i still have to use pixel patcher due to the modified bios.

To which leads me to, even if I were to modify the bios.. and figure out how to patch the driver.. will I likely run into an issue since my 470 is a secondary GPU for my multi monitor setup, and the primary is a 390x ?

My Reasons for wanting to modify my 470 was more for fun than necessity. Though both of my GPUs are used moderately to heavily on a daily basis. Thus if I was able to get lower temps from this card, the 390 would be easier to manage, and/or better performance out of this card than it'll help and I may even offload a little more to this GPU from the 390x
 

·
hex junkie
Joined
·
851 Posts
Discussion Starter #1,063 (Edited)
@thankx
Maybe this version corrects it automatically on save. If not, it would be very bad.. cause no BIOS would ever boot. So you have to correct CRC byte, btw, it is found at offset 0x21.

I added the ""8D 00 00 00 FF" bytes to the custom roms myself. And the 0xFF at the end means this is the end of the subtable, actually these are the two datatypes:
8D 00 = 0x8D = register on PWM controller
00 00 = this is the 6.25mV multiplier (some customs have 0x02 or 0x04 here, if register 0x8D is found)
Some BIOS have them, some not. You can add them, but then you maybe have to resize tables.

But since you also can edit the maximum and minimum voltage (post#3), offset isn't really needed anymore. Take in mind an offset applies all the time, it is also affecting idle voltage.

@Drew Fryer
Don't just flash some 570 BIOS, it has to be modified to fit your card.
Since you have a 470, you have to patch the driver either way. Benefits from a BIOS mod, if you don't need more voltage, would be the possibility to edit memory timings. But since you use it as a secondary card, not really worth it, i guess.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
thank you very much to post these bios and sorry for my inglesh i'm learning yet

i tried pass rx480 to rx580 but i have some problem in bandwidth , have a bios with the bandwidth 64 and unknown, and other with 128 bandwidth
i'm having problem with this bios MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G

i'm using original bios have how do you convert that bios to rx580 gaming x 8gb (samsung) ?
my graphicard's rx480 gaming x 8gb
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts

Attachments

·
Hardware Destroyer
Joined
·
31 Posts
AMD fools Chinese consumer again.

RX 590 GME is RX 580, just like RX 580 2048SP is RX 570. The only difference is the device ID changed from 67DF to 6FDF.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hello.
Just found this thread. I was thinking to flash my MSI RX480 Gaming X 8G to its RX580 counterpart. Now it;'s just lying around as I got RX580 Nitro SE and didn't want to do CF coz of a lot different clocks (didn't play with OC). And, yeah, I know it would be better to sell tham and buy something more powerful in one card. But it would take time and why not? :)

However I have one questiont: Which tye of reflash is better - IR or Original?
Card I have is available in first post, but I'm not sure if it has IR controller (it probably has if there aren't 2 types of every card). I cannot check now as I'm out of home for a week or two, but than I'll have 2 weeks of time thanks to the quarantine time in Poland :)

I tried to find answer in this thread, but there are to many posts...

EDIT: Found this https://www.overclock.net/forum/26619385-post489.html
So there are two types of cards and I have one that does not have the IR controller? :(
 

·
hex junkie
Joined
·
851 Posts
Discussion Starter #1,069
@Sb1982
You might want to try lordkag's UEFI Updater, i think it also has an option for the patched version, or magic one, as i call it.
AMD and Nvidia GOP update
@LordSiphi
I have no fix for that. Try to copy and paste the vram info table. There is more than one version of the Gaming X. Sorry for the inconvinience.
@allasqwe28
Sorry i can't help. Try to read in the Hawaii BIOS thread on how to resize tables another way, and check the pp tables of post#2.
@ch3mn3y
If that is the case you can still make some mods on your own. Timings are most interesting.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Hi, i've got a problem with bios MSI RX580 8GB GAMING HYNIX which i met first time...

VOI STOCK is very short:

Code:
34 00 03 01 01 07 0C 00 0E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 00 80 00 00 B6 03
Could someone tell me, how to do voltage offset in this VOI? Or could someone tell me how to get any info which voltage controller is to get datasheet of this? I need to do voltage offset on this card. I can't get any info about voltage controller, aida doesn't show anything (i attached files from aida)
 

Attachments

·
OG AMD
Joined
·
8,796 Posts
Question: Anyone ever tried to flash a 590 to a 580? Asking for a benchmark comp. If so is there anyway to tell after succesful flash?
RX 590 GME is RX 580, just like RX 580 2048SP is RX 570. The only difference is the device ID changed from 67DF to 6FDF.
Thanks for the answer. I didn't end up joining the competition. ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
share my experience,
from
RX480 Sapphire Nitro OC 8GB (NON +) 11260-20-20G (Micron), always problem with aggressive change pcie x1 x2 spike and my sensible eyes see all microstuter and skip frame, fps increase in number but my tweaked dcuII 7970 goes smoother in almost all games, the numbers are not the gaming experience
ORIGINAL BIOS https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/190082/sapphire-rx480-8192-161222
to
RX580 Sapphire Pulse 8GB (1 month in use for now with little undervolt + modded timings, colder and faster and fix "almost ALL" my previous problem, atiWinflash burn as original)
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197940/sapphire-rx580-8192-171120

need a try if... it looks the same with +25mV in all pState
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/198216/sapphire-rx580-8192-171114

now finally seems a decent card, 76% ASIC
 
1061 - 1075 of 1075 Posts
Top