Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Totally Tubular
1,508 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Project: Heatripper Threadkiller has begun!

The name comes from a mash-up of the CPU (Threadripper) and most of the components of the loop (Watercool's Heatkiller series).

Going with the HEDT platform because I've never built one before and I figured it was about time. I don't actually need lots of cores/threads but I want the build experience. Who knows -- maybe once I get them I'll start using them...

This build started with the idea that I needed to get away from my "comfort zone" brands -- EVGA for GPUs, ASUS for mainboards, and EK for most loop components. I also want this to be a show build at least partially -- enough to want a vertical GPU and a coolant with some sort of effect (Mayhems Pastel or UFO Technologies Cryo-Chillz), but not enough to do hard tubing.

Also notable is that I am going to keep this build RGB-free if I can manage it.

Heatripper Threadkiller Settings and Long-Term Test

-----

Purchases:

From Best Buy (04/27/18):
Logitech G Pro RGB USB Keyboard
Logitech G Pro RGB USB Mouse
Logitech G633 7.1 RGB USB Headset
Total: $263.88 including tax

From Microcenter (04/27/18):
Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Mat
Total: $32.25 including tax

From Newegg (03/12/18):
Corsair HX1000i Power Supply
Total: $229.99 including

From CableMod (03/08/18):
Custom ModMesh Cable Set w/ full Pro upgrade for Corsair HX1000i
Total: $246.80 including shipping

From Performance PCs (03/05/18):
Be Quiet! Silent Wings 3 - 120mm PWM High-Speed Fan (4)
Total: $95.76 including shipping

From EKWB (02/26/18):
EKWB EK-FB ASRock X399 RGB Monoblock - Nickel
Total: $184.45 including shipping

From Performance PCs (02/26/18):
Be Quiet! Silent Wings 3 - 120mm PWM High-Speed Fan (2)
Total: $59.22 including shipping

From Microcenter (02/16/18):
AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
ASRock X399 Taichi
PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 10/16mm - Crystal Clear (2)
Enermax LiqTech 280 AIO