626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
image_0010.jpg

image_0019.jpg

image_0028.jpg

Updated Coolers

DSC_5416.jpg

DSC_5418.jpg

This is my first time building a computer this extensively, and for the most part, it's been built on a very small budget. All the money I had was spent on the actual computer parts, and then everything else you see, has been built from scratch with resources left behind from where I work. Everything is hand made on a drill press and table saw, all soldering by hand. In all likelihood, it will be done when I migrate the hardware to "Heavy Rain", My scratch build.

Right now, it's overclocked to 4.683Ghz on a daily basis, and runs at 5.016Ghz for the turbo overclock. I'm always looking for ways to get temps down without spending much money, and the evaporative cooler (bong cooler) was my choice to help with that. I designed it to fit into my case, where it takes the place of the drive bays and also supports the front of the power supply. The sleeved wiring inside the case I tried to give off an effect of water flowing, after all the project is themed around rainfall. Exterior-wise the only thing that has changed on the case is the addition of two high flow fans, and all chrome trim pieces re-made in black brushed steel. Oh and a large water cooler mounted to the top.
biggrin.gif