Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been building computers for a few years, on this build I decided to go all out. I have always had various things that I always regretted after the fact on my builds, I have decided to take my time with this one and do everything as perfectly as I can with no regrets (feedback and thoughts welcome). I have spent a lot of time building the list of components and have 90% of the products currently. There are only a few items I have not decided on that I have noted below.

Hardware:

Case - Caselabs SMA8 case with black exterior and red interior. This case is hands down the best case I have ever owned. Every detail is just spot on. Mod-One case feet.
CPU - 7980XE - I purchased this from Silicon Lottery. I have no issues delidding, and have done so in the past on the 7980XE, but I wanted a promise of getting a good chip so I purchased the 4.5ghz bin from them (no longer available), which at the time was poosted was less than 3% of the processors that they had tested.
Mobo - I debated a lot between the Asus Rampage VI Apex and Extreme. In the end I have decided to go with the Apex do to its slightly better overclocking ability and having no valid reason to ever need 128GB of Ram.
Ram - I have a few options here, right now I am going with the Gskill TridentZ RGB 32 GB 4000 mhz cl17 ram. I have a pretty good bin currently of the Gskill RGB 64 gb 3200mhz cl14 ram I may end up using instead. I have a decent 32 GB 3200 cl14 bin as well. We will just see which performs the best.
Hard drives - I don't need a lot of data storage and dont really have a need for backup so I went with the Samsung 960 Pro 1T NVME and 2x Samsung 850 Evo 2T SSD
Power Supply - EVGA 1600 T2, best power supply our there IMO