Overclock.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
608 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there OCN,

I'm a senior software engineering student who is looking to build a small but powerful system to take with me to wherever my next job/or masters degree takes me.

I'm building a new system and the intended purpose is everything.
I do some music production (FL Studio), video editing, 3d modeling, CAD, programming, computer vision/machine learning, Linux programming, and of course gaming.
I know, I listed off basically everything there is. Gaming takes the least priority of them all.
I will be keeping some old items from my old build, and those items will be noted. I will be passing on my i7-2600K to my family, so I would hope whatever I choose will feel like a substantial upgrade.

My father wants a gaming machine for himself and it makes more sense for me to build a new system that might be better suited to the things I might do later on and pass on some older parts.

Budget: 1900CAD ~= 1300USD (excluding taxes)
Purchasing in Canada. (NCIX, Newegg, Amazon)

EDIT: BUILD MODIFIED 2016-01-03

Current concerns with the proposed build:

Motherboard:
Can I boot the MSI X99A MPower from an M.2 PCI-E x4 card? Can't seem to find anyone else who has.

Thanks!

·
Senior OCN Member
40,734 Posts
You should think dropping the H110 and either get a Noctua NH-D15 or move up to a Swiftech H220x or H240x instead.
Mosr AIO coolers are overrated overhyped and overpriced, there are options that are better costs less and make less noise.

And yes why get a quad channel motherboard if you are not going to use it.
You need either a kit with 4 or 8 RAM not 1.

·
Registered
608 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Quote:
Originally Posted by brazilianloser View Post

Just curious on why going for a single 16gb stick? I did build on the 350D for my wife but I personally think there are better cases out there for cheaper.

5.25 to 3.5 Adapter