Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all,

Kinda a newb with water cooling as I completed my first custom loop last month. I noticed in the Monoblock has build up in the fins (I apologize, phone camera is not great to produce a good quality picture), white in color. The rest of the loop itself looks fine, it just seems to be built up there. The CPU temperatures are also high as a result which I believe this to be the reason.

Being that I'm new at this like I previously mentioned, I just wanted to inquire how to go about getting it cleaned out. Should I drain the loop and use some sorta of cleaning kit and run that through it for a duration of time (If those even exist)? Should I drain the loop and take the monoblock out to disassemble and clean it with a toothbrush, and if so what liquids/items should I use to clean it with this method?

Thanks in advance, thought building the loop woulda been the difficult part but guess it'll be the maintenance lol

For reference, I'm using the EKWB Monoblock for the X570 Crosshair VIII Dark Hero, EKWB GPU Block for the EVGA FTW3 3080, 2 Corsair 360 Radiators and corsair Pump/Res combo, with EKWB QUantum Torque STC Fittings and EKWB ZMT Black Rubber Tubing. The Fluid is Corsair Clear XL5.

·
Robotic Chemist
3,909 Posts
Should I drain the loop and take the monoblock out to disassemble and clean it with a toothbrush, and if so what liquids/items should I use to clean it with this method?
This is the way forward. Trying to dissolve this junk is usually a bad idea, it is very slow even if it is soluble and whatever is dissolving it can also hurt other things in the loop (nickel).