Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, im looking to build a new rig in the near future, Is there any new hardware that i should be hanging out for?<br />
i want it to be quite the awsom with lots of bells and Whistles.<br />
<br />
atm i can see my self spending around $3000. AUD...depending how much i can save in the next few months.<br />
<br />
My knowledge of computer hardware is decent but nothing special. I am quite noob in some ways haha and have never built a computer completly from the ground up....ie, screwed around with taking heatsinks off and such.<br />
<br />
im hopeing to have a w/ced rig but do not know if its worth it for a noob like me. i have heard lots of worrying storyies about leaks, corrosion, and pumps failing. is it worth it?<br />
if so i was thinking to make it eaiser on me i would buy a Pre cooled case<br />
for e.g <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=93_60&products_id=18773" target="_blank">http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...ducts_id=18773</a><br />
Can you W/c SLI cant say ive seen it done.<br />
<br />
Im also looking to overclock this rig. im a o/c noob, and i only have a minor o/c on my current rig.<br />
<br />
Things i would prefer. <br />
-atleast 2gb ram.<br />
-Nice case, cood cable managment<br />
-Good gfx card...not sure if i should run SLI or not.<br />
<br />
I will be using it for<br />
DVD/Music playback, DVD ripping, multi tasking<br />
Gaming: hardkor3 gamer, need graphics and frame rates.<br />
<br />
Also wondering about buying vista...but not sure.<br />
<br />
Any suggestions on parts that i should get? as stores around me have very limited ranges.<br />
but yeah deffintly need to know if i should be waiting for new hardware to come out....<br />
if i need to let you know anything more let me know<br />
<br />
thanks all <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Take 1:<br />
<ul><li>CPU: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=19803&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">Intel CORE 2 DUO E6400/ 2.13GHz/ 2MB CACHE/ 1066FSB/ LGA775</a> $325.60</li>
<li>MoBo: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=19508&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">Asus P5W-DH-DELUXE motherboard</a> $407.00</li>
<li>RAM: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=20495&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">G.SKILL DDR2 2GB PC-6400 (1GB x 2) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ</a> $518.10</li>
<li>Video: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=20767&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">ASUS EAX1900XT-HTVDP-256 RADEON X1900XT, 256MB, DDR3, PCIEx16, 2xVGA, 2xDVI, HDTV, VIVO</a> $507.10</li>
<li>HDD: 2x <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=18224&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">Seagate Barracuda 320Gb 7200 16Mb cache SATA 2 Hard Disk</a> $284.80</li>
<li>DVD: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=18102&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">LiteON DVD ReWriter SHW-165P6S (16x/8x Dual Layer Black)</a> $54.00</li>
<li>Case: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=20592&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">Thermaltake Armor Black Tower Case with 430W, VA8000BWS</a> $255.20</li>
<li>PSU: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=18115&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">Antec TruePower II-550 Watt PSU</a> $158.00</li>
<li>CPU Cooler: <a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=20506&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120 VX Cooler</a> $78.10</li>
</ul>Total: $2,587.90 <br />
<br />
Don't know many aussie sites, so I took the one you listed. With some looking around, better parts might be found (the 7900.10 perperdicular hard drives for example, and a more powerful PSU)<br />
<br />
I left the choice for Crossfire open, but with a P5B Deluxe, higher overclocks are possible
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Joshn

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,449 Posts
Chozart is on it, BUT, <br />
if you can wait 2-3 months, lots of new changes are supposed to be coming out:<br />
DX-10 video cards and the K8L AMD cpu's (K8.5's)!<br />
Its gonna get interesting, but surely expensive. Speculation doesn't always pan out either.<br />
For "in the now" , Choz has a rig designed for you that I'd be envious of.<img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Filthy Casual
Joined
·
8,653 Posts
K8L's are coming out soon? I thought they were still in like prototype stage...<br />
<br />
May need to start saving soon <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,616 Posts
<a href="http://www.staticice.com" target="_blank">www.staticice.com</a> is good for pricing.<br />
<br />
Centre Com is a good store.<br />
<br />
What chozart laid out is a good build, but it depends. You can get better stuff if your budget is higher (ie. 7950GX2).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,449 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>pow3rtr1p</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">K8L's are coming out soon? I thought they were still in like prototype stage...<br />
<br />
May need to start saving soon <img src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Wink" class="inlineimg" /></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>The latest is Q1, 2007 arrival. Could be Jan., could be March or later.<br />
Could be NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for all your replies<br />
and thank you Chozart for taking that effort.<br />
<br />
ussally im a bit of a die hard AMD fan, as after swtiching frommy p4 2.4ghz to 64 3000+ i had never been happier. <br />
so is the Intel CORE 2 DUO better <br />
then say <br />
AMD ATHLON 64 X2 (AM2) 4600+ ??<a href="http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=93_27_29&products_id=19308&ccsid=ae147363826b8a29802db19489e5053d" target="_blank">http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...2db19489e5053d</a><br />
<br />
i like the case too its nice.<br />
<br />
ive never used ati before bar my laptop..so im a bit sceptical but im sure many people would recomend them over nvidia, . and i think i will get a dx10 card if i get vista.<br />
<br />
im getting excited now <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" /> haha. i currently have about $1000 saved, but by the time am ready to buy it, i should have more then enough.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>OpTioN</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">YES the core2duo is WAY better</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>lol best get the Intel then <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" /> haha.<br />
whats the deal with the conroe business?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,616 Posts
Conroe is a 4MB L2 cache chip that is a very powerful and overclockable.<br />
<br />
I think you should get an E6400 because it has known to clock to 3Ghz.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
24,372 Posts
Slight correction:<br />
<br />
The E6400 (Allandale) has 2MB shared cache. However, it overclocks like mad, and outperforms anything AMD has to offer when it's overclocked (yes, including FX-62 and such things, even when yuo overclock those).<br />
<br />
The E6600/E6700 (Conroe) have 4MB shared cache, but cost significantly more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
oh yeah i was looking foward to that. they are vista exclusive or something arnt they, so ive herd :S??
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
64,282 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Joshn</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">oh yeah i was looking foward to that. they are vista exclusive or something arnt they, so ive herd :S??</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>DX10 games will only work with Vista yes. However a DX10 card will work fine in XP but will only play DX9 games and not DX10 games due to the API difference.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
oh i see. but due to it being dx10 performance will be much better on dx9 games also?<br><br>
god its late. im going to bed lol
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
64,282 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Joshn</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">oh i see. but due to it being dx10 performance will be much better on dx9 games also?<br><br>
god its late. im going to bed lol</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
No ther performace is limited to the DX9 coding. The games wont look any better apart from the USE of SM3. There wont be many advantages for DX9 using DX10 cards.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,440 Posts
I got a few comments <br />
1. Aircool it cheaper.<br />
2. Don't sli or crossfire. Your eye can only see 30 fps so why waste money on fps?<br />
3.Cable magenment is all up to you. <br />
6. Get Rig with DDR2 memory (Intel's core duo 2 is the fastest right now)<br />
7. Raid your hard drives<br />
8. Stick with Xp until vista is out and maybe if they change the liscening it than buy vista.<br />
9.enterprise1701 aren't making 9xL so that you can play DX10 games in xp?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
Josh, for you it's actually good that you won't be upping now. A lot of changes indeed.<br />
Speculation that a DX9 upgrade will support many of the DX10 attributes.<br />
Currently Conroe is the best way to go but who knows wht AMD will pull off by then!
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top