Overclock.net banner

Can I increase my OC by more, and by how much?

614 Views 4 Replies 4 Participants Last post by  The Pook
This is my first time ever overclocking, and just wanted to get a little bit more usage out of my GTX 970 before upgrading. I found a beginner's overclock which seems to give me another 7-8 fps or so in games but based on my temperatures it seems I can actually increase it even more.
The problem is, I'm not sure what to do. The beginner's OC mentioned to just start out by increasing core clock by +100 and memory clock by +400 which I've done, as you can see in the screenshot below.

Let's say I wanted to increase it a bit more... Would I just do +200 on core clock and +800 on memory clock to effectively double the OC that I'm running at the moment? I'm not sure how much the memory clock needs to be increased based on the core clock, but the beginner's overclock seems to indicate that you increase the memory clock by 4 times the core clock... Then again, I could just be guessing here.

I'm not looking to go absolutely crazy with the overclocking, but can you guys suggest any further OC to push a little more out of my GPU based on the temperatures shown in the screenshow below?

Many thanks guys.

Font Technology Screenshot Electronic device Software
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
872 Posts
This is my first time ever overclocking, and just wanted to get a little bit more usage out of my GTX 970 before upgrading. I found a beginner's overclock which seems to give me another 7-8 fps or so in games but based on my temperatures it seems I can actually increase it even more.
The problem is, I'm not sure what to do. The beginner's OC mentioned to just start out by increasing core clock by +100 and memory clock by +400 which I've done, as you can see in the screenshot below.