Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok i currently have 3 320GB HDDs. First of which is for OS and has about 100GB free. Second has media and is near full. Third has just been formatted in expectance of RIAD 0. Is there a way to RAID 0 with the 3 HDDs that I have? My understanding is before you can RAID 0 you must have 2 blank HDDs. This is my first time ever doing this so a step by step would be very helpful and any other comments that would aid me would be awesome. As always I am a rep whore and appreciate good info. Thanks fellas

·
Premium Member
6,995 Posts
Assuming you are referring to RAID0: You need to create the array prior to installing the OS if you want the OS in the RAID partition. If you want, you could RAID0 any 2 of the drives or all 3. It is usually recommended to have an array and a back-up in case one of the drives in the array or the controller itself fails. I do not think you can RAID0 partitions. (as in creating a 100gb partition on each drive and putting them into an array).

If I were you, I would move any important files onto the drive with the music on it. Then, create an array with the 2 other drives. You can then format and install onto that array however you want.

edit: Once you have the array created, you can format it and partition it like any other drive. The OS will see the array as one drive, just twice as big. (need to go into BIOS and set it to RAID and then create the array by hitting ctrl and I at the proper time during boot)

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
dralb thanks for the quick reply. i see we have the same Mobo, is the RAID controller on this work pretty good? my big issue is whether i have to reinstall my OS or not, but judging by your post I guess i will have to. Is the boot up/start up time with RAID 0 a lot better?

also can someone throw some links my way, like i said i am 100 new to this lol.

·
Overclock Failed...
13,565 Posts