Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Aerocool VS-3 case can fit a cooler master hyper 212 evo ( Which I now use) Can it fit a Noctua NH-D14 ( or any noctua cooler that is better hyper 212 evo) ? I want to buy it for more overclocking my fx 8350 without changing my pc case.

P.S: I use 2 corsair venagance rams in the last two sockets which are away from the cpu. I also have 2 extra low height rams. and I will use them if these corsairs wont be used. My mobo is gigabyte 970A -D3 also. I can use my case side panels open (which I do in summer especially )

So considerin all these will it fit for me ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
Never heard of Aerocool before your post, looked them up and they seem kind of cool.
smile.gif


If your case is the Aerocool Advance VS-3, then the maximum cooler height without a side fan is 158mm, according to Aerocool's website: http://www.aerocool.us/pgs/pgs-v/pgs_v_vs3_advance.htm

Now the problem is that the total height of the NH-D14 is 160mm: http://www.noctua.at/pdf/infosheets/noctua_nh_d14_datasheet_en.pdf. So there is a difference of 2mm. It may be possible to install the cooler anyway, and the case panel will concave slightly. I don't think you'll have a problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

Never heard of Aerocool before your post, looked them up and they seem kind of cool.
smile.gif


If your case is the Aerocool Advance VS-3, then the maximum cooler height without a side fan is 158mm, according to Aerocool's website: http://www.aerocool.us/pgs/pgs-v/pgs_v_vs3_advance.htm

Now the problem is that the total height of the NH-D14 is 160mm: http://www.noctua.at/pdf/infosheets/noctua_nh_d14_datasheet_en.pdf. So there is a difference of 2mm. It may be possible to install the cooler anyway, and the case panel will concave slightly. I don't think you'll have a problem.
yes thats my case
smile.gif
and Aerocool is a well known brand in Europe
smile.gif
check ou its upper level cases
wink.gif


Also I edited my post can you reply after reading this :

Edited post :

My Aerocool VS-3 case can fit a cooler master hyper 212 evo ( Which I now use) Can it fit a Noctua NH-D14 ( or any noctua cooler that is better hyper 212 evo) ? I want to buy it for more overclocking my fx 8350 without changing my pc case.

P.S: I use 2 corsair venagance rams in the last two sockets which are away from the cpu. I also have 2 extra low height rams. and I will use them if these corsairs wont be used. My mobo is gigabyte 970A -D3 also. I can use my case side panels open (which I do in summer especially )

So considerin all these will it fit for me ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kersoz2003 View Post

yes thats my case
smile.gif
and Aerocool is a well known brand in Europe
smile.gif
check ou its upper level cases
wink.gif


Also I edited my post can you reply after reading this :

Edited post :

My Aerocool VS-3 case can fit a cooler master hyper 212 evo ( Which I now use) Can it fit a Noctua NH-D14 ( or any noctua cooler that is better hyper 212 evo) ? I want to buy it for more overclocking my fx 8350 without changing my pc case.

P.S: I use 2 corsair venagance rams in the last two sockets which are away from the cpu. I also have 2 extra low height rams. and I will use them if these corsairs wont be used. My mobo is gigabyte 970A -D3 also. I can use my case side panels open (which I do in summer especially )

So considerin all these will it fit for me ?
Yes it will fit: http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=compatibility_gen&products_id=34&lng=en#AM3+_Gigabyte

The GA-970A-D3 is listed as a compatible model
thumb.gif
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

Yes it will fit: http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=compatibility_gen&products_id=34&lng=en#AM3+_Gigabyte

The GA-970A-D3 is listed as a compatible model
thumb.gif
Yes, but the OP is asking if a NH-D14 will fit in his case.

EDIT
Ok. It looks like it won't fit. Aerocool VS-3 is about 7 inches wide and I know that an Antec 300 is about 8 inches wide and can bare fit a ND-H14 in it.

EDIT
You can get a Corsair H80i and put it in the case easy and it is about the same performance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

Yes, but the OP is asking if a NH-D14 will fit in his case.

EDIT
Ok. It looks like it won't fit. Aerocool VS-3 is about 7 inches wide and I know that an Antec 300 is about 8 inches wide and can bare fit a ND-H14 in it.

EDIT
You can get a Corsair H80i and put it in the case easy and it is about the same performance.
I will use case side panel open so will this still be a problem to fit noctua ? Wideness wont change if my mainboard suits up with my case, how can case effect it ? My case can fit gigabyte 970A g3 and if noctua fit on this motherboard how can this be a problem ? ( I say again I will use case side panel open)

also in this video's "abouts" it says :

SPECS:
The Noctua NH-D14 should fit in all cases with a minimum width of 20 to 21 cm (7 to 8 inch). You should be able to use all ram bars without a cooler on top (in some cases you also can remove the ram cooler).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Djki8c31Dqs

this means 7 inch is ok. ? I checked aerocool is 180mm width and noctua is 140mm . so wont it fit after all these ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Also H80i is same performance with Noctua NH-D14 ? If so I can buy it. What will be difference in heat ?

And how about the THERMALTAKE WATER 3.0 PRO ? is it same with H80i ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

Yes, but the OP is asking if a NH-D14 will fit in his case.

EDIT
Ok. It looks like it won't fit. Aerocool VS-3 is about 7 inches wide and I know that an Antec 300 is about 8 inches wide and can bare fit a ND-H14 in it.

EDIT
You can get a Corsair H80i and put it in the case easy and it is about the same performance.
rolleyes.gif
Read my first post.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

rolleyes.gif
Read my first post.
Ok. I did. Yes it will fit on the mobo, but It will not fit in the case. That is what your post says, which OP is ask about fitting in him case not on the mobo..
Quote:
Originally Posted by kersoz2003 View Post

I will use case side panel open so will this still be a problem to fit noctua ? Wideness wont change if my mainboard suits up with my case, how can case effect it ? My case can fit gigabyte 970A g3 and if noctua fit on this motherboard how can this be a problem ? ( I say again I will use case side panel open)

also in this video's "abouts" it says :

SPECS:
The Noctua NH-D14 should fit in all cases with a minimum width of 20 to 21 cm (7 to 8 inch). You should be able to use all ram bars without a cooler on top (in some cases you also can remove the ram cooler).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Djki8c31Dqs

this means 7 inch is ok. ? I checked aerocool is 180mm width and noctua is 140mm . so wont it fit after all these ?
You forget about the raiser that the mobo sits on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kersoz2003 View Post

Also H80i is same performance with Noctua NH-D14 ? If so I can buy it. What will be difference in heat ?

And how about the THERMALTAKE WATER 3.0 PRO ? is it same with H80i ?
H80i would be better.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

Ok. I did. Yes it will fit on the mobo, but It will not fit in the case. That is what your post says, which OP is ask about fitting in him case not on the mobo..
You forget about the raiser that the mobo sits on.
H80i would be better.
Do you understand that the case supports a 158mm tall cooler, and the NH-D14 is 160mm tall? Do you understand how big 2mm is?
rolleyes.gif
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

Yes it will fit: http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=compatibility_gen&products_id=34&lng=en#AM3+_Gigabyte

The GA-970A-D3 is listed as a compatible model
thumb.gif
Here is your post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

Do you understand that the case supports a 158mm tall cooler, and the NH-D14 is 160mm tall? Do you understand how big 2mm is?
rolleyes.gif
You said it will fit. So you can't read your own post. Plus I know a NH-D14 can't fit in the case.
You said it will fit then you said it wouldn't fit, so make up your mind.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

Here is your post.
You said it will fit. So you can't read your own post. Plus I know a NH-D14 can't fit in the case.
You said it will fit then you said it wouldn't fit, so make up your mind.
Yes, I did say it would fit, that's the same thing I've said in all my posts. Please learn how to read, you have reading comprehension problems.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

Yes, I did say it would fit, that's the same thing I've said in all my posts. Please learn how to read, you have reading comprehension problems.
So how are you going to fit a 160mm HSF in a 158mm space? You said yes it will fit in the case.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
136 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

So how are you going to fit a 160mm HSF in a 158mm space? You said yes it will fit in the case.
The difference is only 2mm, so if you install the cooler the side panel sheet metal is flexible, it will arch slightly and still allow the cooler to fit. I know, I have done it before.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
9,682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post

The difference is only 2mm, so if you install the cooler the side panel sheet metal is flexible, it will arch slightly and still allow the cooler to fit. I know, I have done it before.
And fail move bye bye cooler.
 

·
curmudgeon
Joined
·
5,930 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,995 Posts
Uhm... isn't the Hyper 212 Evo already the exact same height as the NH-D14 so there's no question that it will fit?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
27,411 Posts
Case specs are often 2-5mm less than what will actually fit... but not always. The best way to be sure is to actually measure it, cut something that length and set it on the CPU with side cover and see if it fits.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixson01974 View Post

And fail move bye bye cooler.
Whay you don't get I say : I WILL USE MY CASE SIDE PANEL OPEN.. which means no side panel no limit for height .. now can't I still fit it ??
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top