Overclock.net banner

Can physical speaker location affect the net volume/loudness coming out of a speaker?

492 Views 9 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  cssorkinman
Hi guys,

TLDR: Would having a monitor speaker in a corner of a room make it sound louder/fuller than its partner which would NOT be in a corner?

Long version for those that like stories:
Sooo, I've ran into a bit of a weird one, for me at least. I'm pretty noobish when it comes to audio, guess you could say I'm just getting started on my journey. As such, I've recently purchased a set of PreSonus Eris 3.5s to compliment a retro PC build I am working on.

The Setup:
Because I am actually working on 2 retro PCs and want to use the same speakers on both, I have hooked up the speakers through a small Alto ZMX52 mixer. I am also using unbalanced cables all throughout.

Now, here's the weird part. I tested these speakers out when they arrived. This initial test was great and happened on my main desk which happens to be centered in my office. I've since moved them to their designated permanent location on my Retro PC desk and suddenly I noticed a change in audio, specifically, the left channel speaker suddenly sounded louder than the right. This was very peculiar so I proceed to troubleshoot. I've tried different cables, different channels on the mixer, differnt audio sources, flipping channels on both the mixer and the speaker inputs and of course flipping the speakers around into eachothers physical location. No matter the change, the speaker located on my left was always the louder one which made me conclude that it is not in fact due to the speakers nor the cables nor the mixer. I have personally concluded it must be the space, but I wanted to pass this by you guys who will hopefully either confirm this or tell me why I'm wrong.