Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I've been trying to OC my FX-6300, and it doesn't seem to want to go past 4.2ghz.

At 4.2ghz, no prime95 workers fail, and the CPU stayed at arount 65c (Cryorig H7 cooler). It stays around 45c under gaming/editing load, and 24c idle.
This is at 1.325v on the CPU VCORE, with all power saving features except cool n quiet disabled, as well as turbo.

But, if I try to go any higher than 4.2ghz (even at 4.3), no matter how high I raise the voltage (maximum I've tried is 1.45, since I've read that around 1.55 is the max safe voltage), it always fails the 5th and 6th prime95 workers.
While testing, it still stayed within safe temps, never going above 70c.
Is this just my chip's limit? Or, is there something else that I need to tweak/change in order for it to work?
I'm new to overclocking, so all I've changed is the multiplier, CPU VCORE voltage, and the power saving settings.

This is my whole build, and my mobo is a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P

Thank you for any help!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okay, followed that guide, and I found what I wasn't doing before. I didn't change my NB core.
So this time, I set both the vcore and nb core to +0.1v past the default, and set the frequency to 4.3ghz.
Ran IBT, and with the default settings (10 times to run, standard/1024mb, all threads), it completed saying I was stable, and had these results:

My max temp was 61c, and according to HWMonitor, my max CPU VCORE used was 1.320v.

So, this is good then?
And if so, can I just keep going up by 0.1ghz and upping the voltage slightly until I reach my max temp limit?
Or am I limited by something else?

Thanks Duality!

·
curmudgeon
5,930 Posts
No matter what it says when you see -1 in the results column it is not stable and needs more volts. +3 is the sweet spot.

·
curmudgeon
5,930 Posts