Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
2,848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first build log, and I'm still learning new things all the time, but I got my hands on a Bitfenix Survivor case in a white color (with black accents), and I'm very excited to do something with it--which I shall document here. Basically this case is rather uncommon, so perhaps someone will find these photos useful.

(mine has a red LED logo and fan instead of blue--blue was not an option).

http://www.bitfenix.com/global/en/products/chassis/survivor-white#overview

The general plan for now is to do a window mod in the left-side panel and to paint the outside of the case a vintage teal-ish blue, Vespa-inspired. The case has a lot of rounded lines, which go with that style too. The inside will likely remain white, as I like how LED lighting looks in my white BitFenix prodigy, especially on bright white components like my all-white Phanteks fan. Things might change and evolve in the process.

Current stage:

Plan:

Reverse ATX version

Here is the case as it arrived to me a couple of days ago.

Unpacked:

From the back:

Top view:

Front panel:

Internals:

^ Going to be removing all the hard drive cages to maximize airflow

Bottom:

Included 200mm fan (with red LEDs - won't be using those)

----
Yesterday, I drilled out a few rivets to take out the drive bays completely, as they do a good job of blocking airflow from the front intake fan(s). Looks like I can fit 2 140mm intake fans there instead of the default 200mm or 2 120mm fans. I actually already have 2 such fans I want to use, hence the decision:

2 Xigmatek 140mm blue LED fans - approximately placed:

That's it for now. Going out to a hardware store to get lots of supplies, including a new disk for a dremel, nuts, bolts, primer, paint color ideas.

~ Progress Log ~

·
: ( ) { : | : & } ; :
3,616 Posts
Nice, I'm subbing this!
thumb.gif

·
2,848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·