Overclock.net banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
704 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So you want to be a pokemon master... Er, wait wrong tutorial.

SO YOU WANT TO CHARGE YOUR PSP VIA USB? Surely you've seen big brother with his Slim & Lite PSP and how he has that fancy mancy feature, and he probably rubbed it in your face that you couldn't do it too!

Well all that's about to change.

Before you proceed, I have two questions for you. The first is are you familiar with a soldering iron? You don't have to be an expert (sheesh, I sure as hell am not one), but if you're a complete noob to soldering, a gold toilet just ain't in the cards baby! Get experienced with old junk hardware first!

The second question I have for you is simple:

Because if you snap off a ribbon cable clamp off your PSP motherboard, that's exactly what you'll WANT to do for fubaring your prized handheld!

Now if you're familiar with a soldering iron AND you're a bad enough dood, let's get to the nitty gritty. Here's what you'll need:
  • Large CLEAN workspace (essential to map out what screws went where)
  • 15w soldering iron
  • 30AWG wire
  • Other tools mentioned in THIS PSP dissasembly tutorial (follow it until you get the motherboard out)
Proceed at your own risk.

Once you've gotten the motherboard out, here's two pictures that will explain everything you need to know (this is a ONE wire operation):

Okay, see that green star? That's the far left pin on the USB port, and specifically the 5v pin (which is EXACTLY what your AC adapter supplies the battery via the DC connector). As you can see, you don't need an uber thin tip soldering iron. I have a somewhat slim one, but a slight bit of carelessness caused me to melt a bit of the black plastic there. No worries, no serious damage. Plus no one sees it.