Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<br />
Before I take the leap buying my cpu, I would be interested in hearing everyones opinion on which chip will be best. I hear the E6300 and E6400 are great overclockers, but what about their big brothers with the 4M cache? I have read articles stating a E6400 can hit stock 6800 Extreme speeds. How well do these upper level Conroes compare when overclocked, and will their increased speeds justify the extra bling? Let me know what you think.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
what kind of budget do you have? super low? 6300, little more go for the 6400. willing to spend the $500 on the 6700- go for it. then extreme (X6800) has unlocked multipliers so it can get high frequencies. but it still costs $1000.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,095 Posts
I'll be getting a 6300 I think for my family's new HTPC.....but if I was buying for myself, I'd defn get a 6600 for the increased cache.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,831 Posts
e6300. you can overclock it to 3.2ghz pretty easily if you know what you're doing.<br />
i overclock to save money along with other reasons... but the e6300 will definitely give the highest percent overclock.<br />
i mean going from 1.86ghz to 3ghz is more than 50% right there...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
19,923 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>Sideburns</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">I'll be getting a 6300 I think for my family's new HTPC.....but if I was buying for myself, I'd defn get a 6600 for the increased cache.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Agreed. If I had the budget at my time of purchase I would have gone with the E6600 for the cache - but budget said "No!" Still happy with the E6400 - VERY happy. <img src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Big Grin" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
787 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>cgrado</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">what kind of budget do you have? super low? 6300, little more go for the 6400. willing to spend the $<u><b>315</b></u> on the 6600- go for it. then extreme (X6800) has unlocked multipliers so it can get high frequencies. but it still costs $1000.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div><img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,996 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>OzziKing</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic"><img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003</a></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>whoops, forgot it's the 6700 that's $500 right?<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115005" target="_blank">E6300</a><br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115004" target="_blank">E6400</a><br />
E6500-DOes not exist, they decided to skip one. <br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003" target="_blank">E6600</a><br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115002" target="_blank">E6700</a><br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115001" target="_blank">X6800</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>OzziKing</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic"><img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" /><br />
<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115003" target="_blank">http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003</a></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>I've been doing alot of reading latley cause I'm in mthe market for new mobo and cpu. and That cpu is the one I've been looking at. The price isn't really too bad either.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Which cpu? I gather that the E6400 is the way to go because of its overclocking ability, and if you want 4M cache the E6600 unless one can drop the $$$$ on the extreme. I have found the extreme for 800 though. <img src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
The 6400 and 6600 are both <b>really</b> good buys. I have both, and unless I <u>couldn't</u> afford, I'd get the 6600 every time. I just wanted one of each, but you can't go wrong either way. I may sell my 6400 soon though to my cousin, then get a 6700 for main and move 6600 to 2nd rig.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,847 Posts
The real "playas" of the C2D world are the E6300 and the E6600. Either one of those will serve you well, but the 6600 with its extra cache will only give you a small performance increase in gaming, whereas it will help you out with superpi times and benchies etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,936 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>RoscoeMcGurk</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">The 6400 and 6600 are both <b>really</b> good buys. I have both, and unless I <u>couldn't</u> afford, I'd get the 6600 every time. I just wanted one of each, but you can't go wrong either way. I may sell my 6400 soon though to my cousin, then get a 6700 for main and move 6600 to 2nd rig.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>He is exactly right both the E6600 are great buys but make sure you can buy the E6600 and get a good mobo to. If you can afford a good mobo with the E6600 drop down to the E6400 and get that mobo because that will make a difference when you start to overclock.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>adam144</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">The real "playas" of the C2D world are the E6300 and the E6600. Either one of those will serve you well, but the 6600 with its extra cache will only give you a small performance increase in gaming, whereas it will help you out with superpi times and benchies etc.</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div><br />
Not only superpi times and benchies. I don't really care much about benchies anyway, I only use them occasionally to guage my system, then I go on to actually use my computer. How about video encoding? I mean I like to game, but there's other things I do too, same for many other people. In most things the 6600 will have slight edge at the same clock as a 6400. In some things the gap gets bigger and the 6600 outperforms even more. And as for gaming, watch as newer games get released (sooner or later) that take advantage of more cpu cache. Would you rather put that blood/gore setting on <u>high</u>......or <b>ULTRA</b>,ULTRA,Ultra,ultra!!<br />
<br />
Is it worth it? For how much the 6600 is, and for <u>what</u> it is, I say yes very much. But I could also say the same for the 6300 and 6400, for how much they are a very good purchase.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
798 Posts
Im not shure the extra cache is worth your extra money. The jump from 6300 to 6400 is like 50$ but the jump to an 6600 is an extra 100$. I would invest that money in getting a good MOBO. Just check out this article:<br><a href="http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2802" target="_blank">http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2802</a><br><br>
The 6300 and 6400 really are the best bang for your buck. But if you are willing to spend the extra cash and if you have it. Be my guest and get a 6600 <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Lt.JD</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">He is exactly right both the E6600 are great buys but make sure you can buy the E6600 and get a good mobo to. If you can afford a good mobo with the E6600 drop down to the E6400 and get that mobo because that will make a difference when you start to overclock.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
would this be a good mobo to ron the e6600 with?<br><a href="http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2354289&sku=G452-2554" target="_blank">http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...&sku=G452-2554</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,406 Posts
That is good, there are the P5B Deluxe, P5W DH Deluxe, P5W64 WS PRO, Gigabyte DS3, so which ever fits your budget.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
292 Posts
I think the Abit AW9D-MAX is a great board and has some of the best OCing settings all around I like it better than the Asus P5W64 WS Pro which I have both boards and the Abit seems to OC easyer but has only one pci slot.<br><br>
Just my opion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
96 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>TURN & BURN</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">I think the Abit AW9D-MAX is a great board and has some of the best OCing settings all around I like it better than the Asus P5W64 WS Pro which I have both boards and the Abit seems to OC easyer but has only one pci slot.<br><br>
Just my opion.</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
yeah well<br>
i need more than one pci slot and also need a com port and which the asus seem to lack..
 

·
Filthy Casual
Joined
·
8,653 Posts
I'd say E6600 if you can afford it. E6300 if you can't. Those are the only 2 chips I would consider purchasing if I went Conroe, which I'm not, btw.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top