Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im fairly new to networking and recently obtained a cisco 2950 switch to hook up the stuff in my room, Xbox, sig rig (fixed at last
*refer to other post*), and macbook model 2,1. And later on foxtel. I was wonder how to access the settings and such, i was told it had an ip of 192.168.0.111 but i typed it into firefox and nothing came up. (connection timed out). This switch is connected to a wrt54g router with gigabit port. dd-wrt. The router doesnt identify the switch either because i thinks its because its in a 0.111 subnet or whatever. Please help

EDIT: everything is in working order tho, i just want to get into the settings.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
LUCKY!!!! I'm jealous!

Do what JDT02 recomends via telnet and see if you can reach your device, and for your sake I hope there isn't an enable secret password, or you'll be learning how to crack encryption.. J/k there are easier ways in..

You'll want to buy a serial console port cable to connect to your router for a backup, or until you can get in to configure the VLAN1 interface and setup vty 0 to log in remotely. Buy one, plug it in, set the following settings, and turn the device on.

that will boot you through the power on mode, and with any hope of luck, the device will have hadits running-config file reset back to it's original state. That's your sure fire every-time way!

Let us know how it goes..

Quote:

Originally Posted by JTD92 View Post
Cisco switch doesn't support management over the web browser. You are going to have to do it over Telnet or Hyper Terminal.

Open CMD
Type in telnet 192.168.0.111

If the command doesn't work you have to install telnet. http://www.leateds.com/2009/telnet-f...sta-windows-7/

Tell if it works.

EDIT: Do you know the Cisco IOS?
Wrong. Cisco has a built in HTTP server fuction in all of their newer IOS versions, you can enable it by typing

Code:

Code:
Router1#configure terminal