Overclock.net banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Civ V
The unboxing of the box
This review/unboxing may come at an odd time. Most people who were waiting for this game have it already and the rest are willing to wait till the price drops. Well here it is anyway.

I was waiting for this game more than any other, I even pre-ordered it and I have never done that before. With pre-orders there was a big decision to make: which version. I could have gone steam order and got the cheaper regular version or for a $10 bump got 1 more map and a civ. I was tempted. But as I live in Taiwan I did some local online shopping. I found the regular disk was about the same as steam, but the box set had different goodies. Again I have never ordered a collectors, bonus or box set before, so I decided to splurge. I got the deluxe box set for about $65us shipped to my local 7-11. Most of the big convenient stores offer a shipping service here. They can do UPS, fed-ex but they also have their own. This is very convenient as I can pay cash and don’t have to worry about pick up. When the tracking said it had been sent from the local depot to the store I sat waiting by the phone. It seemed a long wait but right on time it came. And here it is:

Inside the plain brown box is... another box.

No packing material at all!

Would peanuts have been so hard to throw in? Lucky it seems none the worse for its trip. Outside the retail box is a nice paper sleeve, easy to remove.

Inside is a well packed box. First out is a coffee table book of art and game design information.

Next is the game disk itself.

Inside the folder is the one game disk and some advertising.

Also a big fold out tech tree and unit upgrade and experience chart.

This would have been good to read but who has time when there are barbarians waiting at your gate. While the game loads lets look what else is in there.

There are 2 bonus material disk folders.