Overclock.net banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,072 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a couple of EK radiators made of brass. I had been using a dark red EK premix coolant for a few months and when I took the whole system apart, the coolant had badly stained everything it touched. I was able to clean copper, nickel, and acrylic parts, but I cannot get the brass inside my radiators clean. The surface of the inside is still stained red.

I've let them soak overnight filled with 75% white vinegar / 25% distilled water. I've even let them soak for an hour with 100% vinegar. And I've connected them to a makeshift loop with a pump to run a 50/50 vinegar + distilled water mix through them and let it run for long periods of time, several times. The first time I tried flushing them with vinegar, it pulled up a lot of red that pure distilled water could not get. After flushing and re-filling a couple times, it stopped pulling up red stain and the mixture remained clear, but the inside of the radiator STILL has red coating the inside.

I really wanna get these things sparkly clean with not even a hint of dye stain. Any suggestions? Does Brasso come in liquid (not cream/paste) form? If so, would it be safe to fill up my radiator with it?

·
Premium Member
6,238 Posts
Really if pure vinegar does not do the trick I would just leave it as is. Far more risk then its worth. As the color refuses to come off then whats the problem? It won't color the new liquid when you use them in a loop and the staining won't impact performance in any measurable way.

If you absolutely must get them clean no mater what I guess you could try some more powerful solvents like turpentine or acetone. But thous are strong stuff and I'm not sure how they will react with soldered brass. Acetone especially is really potent and will strip paint of metal in seconds so don't go splashing that around. Again not sure how that would react with the solder joints so use at your own risk.

·
Registered