Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Uhh, I'll let you know next time I'm idle?? lol I think its like 29C - 31C.

Anyone else got 3.0Ghz on Air?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,120 Posts
Nice! I'm getting Water! I just can't stop saying that.. There should just be in general 3Ghz X2 club cuz these things aren't really known for hitting 3Ghz like their Opty counterparts even though they OC pretty well.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,847 Posts
That's freakin' awesome!

Your RAM seems somewhat underclocked though - tighten the divider
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,120 Posts
He's got some bad ram sadly so hes underclocking it until he gets the stuff RMAed. How's that going btw?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,419 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by CWell1337
View Post

Is there one? There should be! SO far I'm 6 hours and 21 minutes into Orthos!

I'm not going on the TEAM...but your HTT is 754 Status homie
...
If you can get 3GHZ at 1000HTT...then call it a club
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Well Ropey told me not to even bother RMAing it since I won't get better stuff. I'm just going to memtest the hell out of it and tighten down my timings to like 4-3-3-10. That's what I'm hoping for anyways. If I get 4-3-3-11 I'll be happy. The ratio is at 1:1 so it's good to have like this. If I change the divider, yeah I can get faster speeds, but then I'll have to loosen up the timings a lot to like 5-5-5-15 or something...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I tried DDR2-533 at 4-4-4-12-2T @ 2.1v and windows rebooted on its own after like 5 mins. I read that tighter timings give a better performance increase than higher speeds.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,120 Posts
Geez. Thats too bad! I'd just take the loss and buy another pair myself. Maybe sell a pair to a friend who wouldn't do anything extreme with it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,419 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by CWell1337
View Post

Well Ropey told me not to even bother RMAing it since I won't get better stuff. I'm just going to memtest the hell out of it and tighten down my timings to like 4-3-3-10. That's what I'm hoping for anyways. If I get 4-3-3-11 I'll be happy. The ratio is at 1:1 so it's good to have like this. If I change the divider, yeah I can get faster speeds, but then I'll have to loosen up the timings a lot to like 5-5-5-15 or something...

Very nice OC BTW...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I would, but I'm not sure what another pair would do better for me.
ropey123 (9:35:25 PM): ah
ropey123 (9:35:53 PM): your clock will not go past 800 anyway
ropey123 (9:35:57 PM): it's at 600
ropey123 (9:36:05 PM): so probably no use to get them
ropey123 (9:36:10 PM): for your setup
ropey123 (9:36:14 PM): you need a core2
ropey123 (9:36:23 PM): to be able to access 1066 1:1
CWell1337 (9:37:55 PM): I'm nto sure what youre telling me
CWell1337 (9:37:58 PM): not to bother?
ropey123 (9:38:05 PM): look at your cpu-z
CWell1337 (9:38:06 PM): and just sticjk with this promos
CWell1337 (9:38:07 PM): ?
CWell1337 (9:38:14 PM): yeah i am
ropey123 (9:38:24 PM): you can't even make 800 on that board and chip
ropey123 (9:38:39 PM): so 1066 is out of the question

I trust the guy. He helped me out a lot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,120 Posts
If you say so. You probably could squeeze some higher clocks if you bought better RAM like DDR2-900 or 950. My OCZ sticks are actually amazing OCers. I thought they couldn't go above 230Mhz but they're sitting around 240 right now.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
111 Posts
hi im newer to the overclocking game dont get me in no newbie its jsut im getting into like the aspect of it all more indepth i would say so it means more to me and bad thing happened is my mobo has dual channel but i put the dual channel in now it broke on me idk y i just cant fix it but tahts another story but is moving up to an am2 worth it? i mean seriously i would love if asus made this board(describe at bottom) but it would make lots of money since us 939 users would most definatly upgrade

the board if it had

939 socket
ddr2 800 standard dual channel
2 pci 16x slots
nvidia 590 northbridge, or via im not an ati fan at all
with those setting im more than sure any 939 user would love to upgrade to having faster memory i mean to go from 400 to 800 thats a huge jump in my book and would open the door to ALOt more oc'ed athalon 64's like the 3200's and i believe it would push for more advances in cooling such as stronger better fans, then the power aspect owuld change as in power supplys even though they are up there already and i believe that yes ddr3 is next obviously and i cant wait for that to hit the market in oh say probably 5 years (not talking about video cards) teh video cards are outragious now with ati starting gddr4 its only a matter of a few years where we are on teh brink of some major increases in pc's here but with ddr2 939 those mobos would sell like hotcakes in my honest opinion because you wont need a 940, am2 socket (getting new cpu) which if you spent a pretty penny on a fx60 and you can get better memory it would be a jump well worth it instead of the fx62 for like 690$ which is almost 200$ more and i ask if you just spend 450$ ish on a new processor and wanted more overclocking ability and faster memory would u want to spend maybe 650 more for close to teh same processor? just for more speed? some of you say yes but in my case which im in highschool and poor i can bearly afford this stuff im like 3 years behind technology with just getting pci express to me it would just mean less money and more speed for an easy low price
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top